Weekend

On Friday me and Jay went to the German Christmas market in Birmigham, as we do every year for his birtday. We looked at the stalls and decided that everything is far too expensive and we could get them cheaper online, so I just used it for window shopping for Christmas presents and made a list of things I thought people might like.

After looking around the stalls, we spent the rest of the day sampling their food and drink, including a hot toffee cider which I had never heard of before but it was delicious. There was entertainment in the form of a man dressed as Santa, sans beard, singing cheesy Christmas songs in English, German and Spanish.

Yesterday Jay’s mam came round to give him his birthday presents. I was upstairs getting ready to go out but I heard her ask him why the door was locked and he said we hadn’t been out yet today. She replied in an angry voice “You lazy pair of sods!” Really? I’ve done three loads of laundry, changed the bed, cleaned out the birds, vacuumed everywhere, cleaned the bathroom and the kitchen but, because I hadn’t opened the front door by 6pm, I’m a lazy sod? I’m getting sick of her judging and disapproving of the way we live our lives.

I came downstairs, having spent half an hour getting ready to go out for a meal with Jay, and the first thing she says is “You look really tired!” No, I have bags under my eyes and saggy eyelids. I look fine under natural light, but put me under artificial top lighting and it’s very unflattering. She tells me I look tired every time she sees me under artificial light. I know perfectly well I look awful, but I don’t need to have it pointed out to me every time, especially when I’ve spent so long trying to look nice :o(

Anyway, we went to the curry house down the road and the experience was worlds away from last week at Smokey’s. Instead of waiting over two hours for our meal, we were in and out in the space of 45 minutes! In my bid to eat less meat, I ordered two sides instead of the chicken korma I normally get. So I got aloo gobi and mutter paneer. Big mistake, they were a lot spicier than I was expecting and I don’t do spicy food very well! Even after eating them with rice and smothering them in mint yoghurt, it was too much and I only ate half of it :o(

We then headed to the pub, which was completely empty; there wasn’t even anyone behind the bar at first! It’s weird, that pub is rammed on a Friday, I don’t know where everyone goes on a Saturday. So we had a couple of drinks and were home and in my onesie by 10:30pm (Well I was, there isn’t enough room for us both in my onesie).

Today was Jay’s birthday and he opened his cards and presents, tried to have another open fire which went out after about an hour, had someone fix the gutter and just lazed around generally. How do people make fires last for more than an hour without constant prodding and poking?

Well another weekend over, back to boring work again tomorrow.

Log in to write a note
November 27, 2013

Ryn no, Tich really got beaten up. Have a look on his profile, they made quite a mess of him. 🙁

November 27, 2013

Oh and I don’t know if I know Rachael, do I?