Saturday

I did quite a lot today :o) I gave three massive bin bags of toys and clothes to charity. Stuff that my dad brought over about two months ago; toys and clothes that have been living in their loft for 12 years since I left home! The bloke in the shop didn’t seem too pleased about it. We handed over the three bags and he looked really bored, not saying a word to us, just a quietly muttered “Thanks.” on our way out. I imagine he was thinking “Oh great, not more crap to sort through only to find two things which we can actually sell.”

I also finally posted the 42 knitted squares for the friendship blanket I’m involved in, all the way to the USA! I’m going to be quite anxious until they arrive. Altogether, they took about two full days to knit so I’ll be really annoyed if they get lost! There was an old man in the Post Office, shouting at the bloke behind the counter about different stamps he’s collected and asking why he can’t buy certain ones anymore. The poor bloke didn’t have a clue what was going on; I’m sure people who work in the Post Office aren’t actually interested in stamps, but this old fella wanted an audience so there he was.

Me and Jay then embarked on the first day of car shopping. Today was meant to be a recce, just looking around to see what was available for what I want. We made the mistake of visiting Carcraft. Do not go there! Ever! They pounce on you the second you step through the door, force you to sit down and go through all the finance options before you’ve even had a chance to glance at a car, call you liar and steal your car keys so you can’t leave. Do not try the hard sell with me, it will have the exact opposite effect and make me leave very quickly. I’m not soft; I’m a northerner!
He said he would give me a part-ex valuation on my car so I gave him my keys. (I’m going to sell it privately, I’ll get a better price that way, but I was interested to see what the dealerships would value it at) He went away and came back and he hadn’t even been to look at it, started arguing about what I’d told him my budget was and wouldn’t give me my keys back. Trying to tell me I wanted something for at least twice as much as I’d told him I wanted to spend. I had to physically grapple my keys off him so I could leave! I’ve looked up reviews online and they’re all the same, I have no idea how this place stays in business with the insane ‘sales’ techniques. We went to look in a few other places after this and they all left us to it, the smaller independent ones seem the best at this, so I think I’ll be sticking with those in the future.

I dyed my hair today too, something which I’ve been meaning to do for weeks but never got around to. It’s meant to be pillarbox red, Jay thinks it is red but I think it’s more ginger. It will definitely be ginger by the time I’ve washed it a few times. It’s only a temporary one anyway, I’m planning on putting on a purple one for Download, which is only seven weeks away! Eeee!

We have a wedding to go to next weekend, at the venue next door to Download festival, where we go to for Off The Tracks festival. Most of my friends are camping, which I was planning doing until Jay whinged about it, so I swapped our £24 camping pitch for a £110 hotel. Mind you, if the weather’s as hailstoney and cold as it has been this weekend, I’ll be grateful for a nice warm hotel room with a lovely bed and a hot shower!

Log in to write a note
April 27, 2013

Not to worry. I Love you, it’s OK. :o) I’ll let YOU off!

April 27, 2013

SEVEN weeks? Really? SEHR Excited! Carcraft…Hm. We’re trained to give the hard sell, but our stuff is worth £16, not £1,600!

April 27, 2013

RYN:Fvck, no!

April 27, 2013

It bugs me when they are all “ergh” about stuff they are given for free… thankfully goodwill were happy when I donated a big box of baby stuff!

April 28, 2013

Urgh salesmen are the worst. We got held hostage by a double glazing one unfortunately he was in our house so more tricky to get rid of.

April 28, 2013

That salesman should know NOT to mess about with Shellie Moore. 😉 I think most people would hate the hard sell, I would probably walk out straight away.

April 28, 2013

I hate the hard sell, it almost scares me a bit! Xxx

April 29, 2013

If you put a darker red on, then when it fades it will go a brighter red 🙂 (well mine did anyway!!) can’t believe its download time already!xx

I feel for the guy at the post office. Getting caught in uninteresting conversations was one of my least favourite parts of customer-facing jobs

May 2, 2013

ryn: thanks for reading and for your compliments. i couldn’t agree more–live and let live.

May 4, 2013

RYN: I like that. It’s true, weird and awesome. Yeah, love it.

Vee
May 7, 2013

Ryn: I know it happens, it’s just annoying that the bar is so high for the test and yet most people are awful drivers and get away with it. 🙁