NoJoMo Day 3

I’ve wasted today :o( I woke up really early this morning and couldn’t get back to sleep so I stayed in bed dozing until after midday because I was so tired. I’m really annoyed! I had plans of making soup and starting my next essay for Domestic Pet Care. Well at least I made it to Asda and bought the soup ingredients, plus Christmas cards. Yes I bought Christmas cards! My soup is going to be butternut squash and sweet potato. I’ve never cooked with either of these before, how do I prepare them? Do I have to peel them, or cut in them in half and cut it up from the inside? Clueless!

I’ve also been to see my mate Lou who I haven’t seen for ages. She’s actually the ex of one of Jay’s best friends, that’s how we met. She asked if Jay minded me seeing her and he said “No I don’t mind, you need all the friends you can get.” Gee, thanks…

Anyway, she’s very heavily pregnant and due to pop any day now. It was nice to catch up, I’ll have to see her more often because Jay’s right, I do need all the friends I can get! I’ll go and see her again after the baby’s born, I’m knitting a wee hat for him. If I have time I might make him something else as well.

Weekends are too short :o(

Log in to write a note
November 3, 2013

Yes peel them. I made pumpkin and sweet potato soup on Thursday. I ate about 3 bowls and there’s still loads left!

November 3, 2013

butternut squash is very hard to cut up. It is best to stick it in the microwave for a short bit to soften it up first. cube it up to cook it.

November 5, 2013

if you’re making soup, not really necessary to peel either of them, though do remove stem and seeds from the squash. they make a pretty good, though sweet, soup together.