NoJoMo Day 2

Today I cut down my tomato plants and put them in the bin. It was very sad, I’ve nurtured them since they were nought but an seed at the end of February. About half of the fruit went rotten and fell off, presumably because of the late harvest (winter lasted until April this year!) and all the rain we’ve had. We got about a month’s worth of fruit off them, which saved us about £4, lol, I spent a lot more than that growing the plants. But hey, the sense of satisfaction of growing my own food for the first time was worth it. In four months, I’ll be planting them all over again, plus I’m going to have a go at peas as well. I love peas straight out of the pod, nom nom. I’m excited already!

I’m considering trying to eat less meat. Because I do a lot of campaigning for animal rights, I’ve been involved Compassion in World Farming lately and I’ve seen some horrible thing, the way animals are treated while they’re being raised for meat. Kept in tiny, squallid barns, sitting in their own excrement, with no daylight, no straw and no room to move. Free range meat I’m perfectly happy with, but Jay won’t pay for it because it’s too expensive. So I’ve printed off some vegetarian recipes and I’m going to have a go at making some mushroom and cashew pie, hearty pumpkin soup, Thai vegetable curry and vegetable and dumpling stew. I’m not promising I’ll go 100% vegetarian right away as I’m a lifelong omnivore and love meat, but I’m going to try and cut down. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Log in to write a note
November 3, 2013

I thought you weren’t keen on mushrooms?