NoJoMo Day 11

I can’t think of anything to write today. I’m so sick of work, feeling like I’m the only one who does anything and not getting any support from anyone. I asked my boss for help today because I didn’t have time to do all the work myself. Work, I might add, that’s supposed to be split between the entire admin team and not just me; it goes into the communal email boxes and we’re all supposed to pick it up, but every single thing in there has my name against it because no one else picks it up. Two hours later (!) she sent an email to the admin team asking them to help me. One came back and said she had things to do (don’t we all!), one picked a couple of five minute jobs (really helpful, thanks) and I didn’t hear a peep out of the other one. So I didn’t get any help. Instead I rang the cherry picker and told her I was forwarding the phones to her. If all she can be bothered to do is cherry pick a couple of easy emails, then she can answer the relentless phone calls instead.

I was annoyed I was so busy I didn’t notice when it was 11am so I missed the two minutes silence. I watched it on TV yesterday though, I watch it every year. Always amazing the hundreds of people who are there and they are standing in complete silence.

Log in to write a note
November 12, 2013

That’s terrible. I’d say just do the bare minimum, then when your boss asks why nothing is getting done, tell her why. It doesn’t sound like she cracks the whip enough if her team just ignore her!