Mission 101 update

I saw a dead dog on the road on the way home from work, it really upset me. It was on a 50mph dual carriageway with nowhere to stop. If it had been in town, I definitely would have stopped and tried out my new found first responder knowledge. If it was definitely dead, I could have at least looked to see if it had a collar with a disc. The poor creature’s owners are probably wondering where it is, it’s so sad :o(

I have a photo pass for The Jacksons next Tuesday. I have also won a competition for a pair of tickets to the British Guitar Show, which is handily only eight miles away from our house and is this Sunday when my dad is visiting, so I hope he’ll enjoy that! We can pop in just to have a look. Even if it’s boring and we leave again, we haven’t spent any money.

I thought I’d do a Mission 101 update as I haven’t done one for a while and I have exactly one year today to complete them all, or 365 days.

Newly completed tasks
I’ve now completed 20 tasks altogether. New ones recently are:
29) Keep trying to learn how to crochet, and crochet something.
I’ve crocheted a very wobbly baby blanket in granny stripe. The blanket itself was fine, but when I put the edging on it, it all puckered up. I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong there (Angie??) but hey, it’s my first attempt. I don’t have a picture of the finished article, but this is what it looked like when I first started.

It’s in West Bromwich Albion colours as I was going to give it to Mike and Mini’s baby, who is a WBA fan by default. But I decided it was too wobbly to give as a gift, so it’s just going to stay in my big pile of ‘attempted and failed’ crafty hobbies!

75) Try five new restaurants
1- Mug House in Bewdley
2- Purnell’s in Birmingham (which is the only Michelin star restaurant I’ve been to!)
3 – Mrs. Murphy’s Kitchen in Santa Ponsa
4 – Restaurante Xaloc in Santa Ponsa
5- Annexe in Birmingham

Progress
6) Don’t spend any money for 200 separate days. (186/200) I know I’ve completed this one by loads, but I keep forgetting to record the days I don’t spend any money, so I’m only actually updating it when I remember which days I definitely haven’t money.

7) Donate 150,000 grains of rice on http://www.freerice.com. (56,560/150,000)

11) Visit the cinema 75 times. (21/75)
I’ve only been to the cinema 21 times in 637 days?? That is frankly shocking, it’s only an average of once a month.

14) Learn to do the splits.
I’m getting there; I’m only about four inches off the ground on one side. It’s great, if you do it every day, you can see improvement so quickly, about an inch a week, so I should be done in about a month! :o)

38) Give five handmade items as gifts (knitted, baked etc) (0/5)
I’m going to give away some soap when it’s cured. *excited*

45) Try five new foods. 1- Paella (PROPER paella, cooked by Spanish chefs in Spain), 2- Samphire
I’ve already tried lots of different food, I need some ideas please of unusual things :o)

46) Donate blood six more times (I had five on my last one and finished it way in advance!) (2/6)
I’m going for number 3 on 11th March, which I believe might even be my 20th donation overall! Each donation can save up to three lives, so I might have saved 60 lives, OR helped with disease research, OR training forensic scientists to solve murder crimes with blood spatter patterns, like Dexter! Either way, it’s all good :o)

61) Knit a blanket
I’m currently involved in a friendship blanket. Even though I will end up with 42 squares all knitted by different people, I will also have knitted 42 squares, each one with 42 different people. So this counts, yes?

65) Grow something edible and eat it
Last year I grew tomato plants. They got to the flowering stage, but absolutely no sign of fruit. I think I planted them too late and we had absolutely no summer whatsoever. So I’m going to plant them earlier this year and keep them in the veranda, which I didn’t have last year. It’s made of glass so I’m hoping it will act as a greenhouse.

There are all ongoing:

88) Make a proper go of my pet sitting business. Get my website sorted, get contacts, learn stuff, get registered as self employed, set up an office.
89) Complete C25K.- Day 5/24 done.
90) Watch every episode of Lost. 104/121
91) Shoot 100 gigs 45/100
92) Earn £600 worth of Amazon vouchers on Swagbucks. £210/£600
94) Watch every episode of Dexter (48/84)

Onwards and upwards, need to spend more time on my Missions!

Log in to write a note
February 19, 2013

New Dexter starts on Sunday! I always try and book my next blood session when I give, saves me having to remember to book.

February 19, 2013

I’d have sobbed so hard if I saw the dog. 🙁 Almost all yarn crafts will “pucker” etc. That’s why we block them. 🙂 (I assume you know what that is.) Don’t beat yourself up, it’s almost meant to happen lol You’re making great progress. 😀

February 19, 2013

I was about to say “Mine puckers all the time” then I realised how that might sound haha. The scarf I’m knitting at the moment twists into a spiral like a noodle, and the edges are scalloped. It’ll definitely have to be blocked. The joys of cabling.

February 19, 2013

you are doing a great job on your list!

February 19, 2013

How’s are you getting on with Lost? Have you reached the end of Season 5? X

February 20, 2013

Ryn: I think it was the end of Season 5 where I cried! 6 is ok, gets better towards the end (but I think that’s because you know it’s ending!!)

February 20, 2013

RYN: Thanks 🙂 and funny how you mention updating your 101.. i did the same thing this morning!

February 20, 2013

Poor dog, I hope some-one picked it up. 🙁 maybe you knitted the edging too tightly ( expert voice!) . Looking forward to the weekend and guitar show.

February 20, 2013

I was swamped by tomatoes last year! Wonder what we did differently? There was good weather early in the year, about Easter, wonder if that helped. Or just do lettuce, then you can tick it off the list in a few weeks 😛 You are so motivated with your list – it’s all very involved stuff that takes lots of time!

February 21, 2013

RYN: Aye, but his family have nothing to do with Grandma’s bird! :op