End of an era

So I suppose I should jump on the bandwagon and mourn the loss of Open Diary. To be honest, I gave up on it months ago. I was still cross posting over here since I signed up to Prosebox in the vain hope that it might return, but I suppose it was only a matter of time. It’s kind of a relief; every time I typed in the URL it was always with apprehension; what sort of state will it be in today? Will it let me post an entry? Will it even load up the front page? It’s annoying though, I’ve been blogging since about 2001. I started off on Open Diary, went to In The Wire for a bit, had a brief fling with Bloop, back to Open Diary and then to Prosebox. But the latest incarnation of my blog on Open Diary was definitely the longest lived; if I remember correctly I started it in 2005. Luckily I downloaded it just before I started posting on Prosebox so I still have the memories.

I’m pretty sure I’ve found most of my faves over on Prosebox but please go ahead and add me if I’ve forgotten you! I have the same user name Muffin Princess. Here’s to a new era.

On Saturday me and Jay headed over to Birmingham to meet the lovely Beatrix Plotter for her birthday shenanigans. We started off in a rock pub and then wandered over to a rock club I’d never heard of before. It was strange as it used to be a working men’s club and still has all the old furniture and decor. Jay described it perfectly “Like Phoenix Nights with rock music” lol. But it was cool, lots of good music and reasonably priced drinks. We spent almost the entire night dancing like loons. I spent a fortune and expended far too much energy but we don’t go out very often so it was nice to let loose for a change and meet another Internet Weirdo :o)

I’ve seen some people doing a thing called 100 Happy Days on Facebook. As far as I can see, you post about one thing each day that makes you happy. This sounds like a nice idea so I’m having a go. Here are my first four days.

24th January, Day 1. I got to spend a day in bed while workmen took over the rest of the house fitting our new windows. So new windows is one happy thing. Spending the day watching Dexter, knitting and cracking on with my next essay is another.

25th January, Day 2. Going out to meet new people in a new (to me) rock club. Dancing like a loon and having fun.

26th January, Day 3. Not having to go out today in the horrible weather. Instead, chilling at home getting on with my first attempt at fair isle knitting.

27th January, Day 4. Well it’s Monday and I’ve been at work all day, got rained on while walking Roxy and didn’t get home until after 7pm so it’s not looking good so far. Oh but I did get a random text off my mam just to say hello and let me know she’s thinking of me, so that was nice :o)

I’ll continue posting here for as long as it’s around but any day now could be the last day. I’ll see you all on Prosebox and Facebook. Ciao.

Log in to write a note
January 31, 2014

See you on pb x