Cat Cat Caaat

I fed the cat for the first time today. It lives outside in a cat kennel with plenty of blankets, but as soon as I opened the back door, it came running in. (I’m saying “it” because I don’t know what gender it is. The owner told me it was a male, but she keeps calling it “she” and I feel a bit rude lifting its tail to have a look!) Anyway, I fed it and it just sat in the kitchen. There’s another cat that sometimes comes and the owner has ended up putting another cat kennel outside and gives it food, just to keep it away from the kennel and food of the first cat!

The first cat came running in and I fed it, the second one stayed outside and tried to trip me up by weaving between my legs whenever I tried to walk about. I’m amazed by how dainty cats are when they eat! I’m used to dogs; slobbery, noisy, messy and chomping it down like there’s no tomorrow. This cat, however, was very delicate, tidy, made no noise or mess and took its time over it. Are all cats like that or does it have a problem with its mouth or something??

When it was time for me to go, I had to put the cat back outside so I tried to pick it up but I had no idea what I was doing. It was all legs sticking out everywhere, looking very uncomfortable, but it was quite happy to sit there like that. I’m going to have to work out how to pick them up properly!

Haha, I’ve never had a cat before, I think I have a lot to learn about them.

I keep finding myself daydreaming about coming into a bit of money, somehow. If I just had one year’s wages, I would quit my job and spend a year setting up my business. Just that relatively small amount of money can make such a big difference.

If I won the lottery and can quit work for good, I’m imagining myself doing unglamorous things like lots of crafting and learning to play musical instruments, as well as trying out lots of new activities. The usual thing of lots of travelling plus lots of charity work. Donating to charity, volunteering and being involved in programmes like building schools for African children, all that sort of thing. Work takes up too much of my life :o(

What would you do if you never had to go to work again, or if you won the lottery?

Need to have an early night, I’ve hardly slept the last two nights for some reason, and I need to be up much earlier tomorrow as I’m doing an early start and also need to look after the cat before I go.

At the weekend I’m going to York! I’ve never been to York before, the people I went to Romania with are having a reunion. It’ll be interesting seeing them all in a completely different environment :o) I can’t believe it’s already four months since we were there!

Log in to write a note
January 10, 2013

York is beautiful. Possibly slightly flooded still at the minute by the river though! The cat bit made me giggle. Cats are dainty when they want to be. I’ll send mine over so they can learn to eat neatly! They just drag it out the bowl before they’ll deign to eat it. A cat will also tell you if you pick it up wrongly and escape – they’re good at that!

January 10, 2013

I don’t know how to pick up a cat either. I’d have lifted it slightly by the scruff, then scooped it into the crook of my elbow. That’s probably totally wrong!

January 10, 2013

Cat will tell you if you pick it up wrong! I pick mine up with one hand on her tummy then scooping her into crook of elbow like what Sonja says. I’d do pretty much the same as you with money. Travel, charity and a mixture of the two, set up small business doing something I like, gardening, visiting museums and seeing people I hardly get to see because of work!

January 10, 2013

There’s nothing delicate or dainty about my cat. He snarfs food down. (“Snarf” accurately describes the noise he makes.) He’s gross. The least-painful way to pick up a cat is to scoop your arm under its chest just behind where its forelegs start, and then with the other arm support their back legs. If their back legs aren’t on something, they tend to flip out.

January 10, 2013

Yeah I wouldn’t go with picking the cat up by the scruff, it will not thank you! I pick mine up with two hands around the tummy then kind of plop them back into the crook of my arm, supporting their butt with the other hand, kind of like a baby! But my cats are weird. They also like to be held over my shoulder, as you would burp a baby. Odd little things.

January 10, 2013

Ha Rudi is the messiest and loudest eater ever! Is it wrong that I’d still want to work? Maybe only part time and doing something else but I would give up completely. I’d pay off Toms houseif I won the lottery!

January 11, 2013

ryn: It only took that long ’cause I was using a plastic needle. Ghastly. Can’t wait for my metal set to arrive.

January 11, 2013

ryn: I’ve never used bamboo needles, would you believe?! I keep hearing good things, but I’m always drawn to the metal ones.

January 11, 2013

cats are definitely awkward at first. I’ve had one for a couple years now but had no idea what i was doing when we got her as I grew up with dogs. best way to pick them up is round the chest and then slip one hand under the bum as you reach your chest height and they will ‘sit’ on your forearm with one arm around for support (and to stop random leaping).i would probably do similar things if i won the lottery. get a horse and then spend my time volunteering and learning new things.

January 14, 2013

Pick them up under the middle part with one hand and scope their back legs up with the other, so they end up in a seated sort of C shape. 2 of my cats eat tidily, the other acts like a Tasmanian devil. Re: The people in the other car were fine, bar having shock. The driver was only about 18/19 and was having a right good cry. It was horrible. I just feel so sorry for the cow.