Thanksgiving what I plan to do

Well I don’t have much planned. I know I don’t plan on hosting a thanksgiving party at MY house. Breathes a sigh of relief WOOHOO!  

Usually Dh waits until we all get in a family setting then out of the blue just announces that we’re gonna host Thanksgiving,  Christmas,  or New Years Day cooking and chilling. And in turn I look at him as if he is 10 Karat crazy for not informing me of this beforehand because you see he does the hosting(running mouth and parlaying) and I’m stuck doing all the cooking and cleaning.

Well I think after going off on him for the past 2-3 years about us not having this discussion before he blurts out that we’ll be hosting I think he finally got the picture. And for that I am THANKFUL LOL!

Don’t get me wrong I love it when we get together and laugh and have good times and eat good and all that. It’s just that I don’t wanna be the one doing all the cooking and cleaning up afterwards and that’s usually how it happens and normally I end up working on the Holidays so it becomes a double duty task and he sits around looking pretty. Well this year it just so happens that I am not the working at all during the Holiday season and we are not hosting which means someone else will be hosting the family get together at their house. I will cook but it’s just not going to be a humongous deal like we do when family comes over. I’m just going to cook enough for us to have some good food and leftovers around the house. turkey (ofcourse) a special request for Jerk chicken wings,  stuffing,  cornbread,  greens,  sweet potatoes,  baked Macaroni and cheese, potato salad and either,  cake or sweet potato pie.Haven’t decided yet lol.

On both sides of the family we are HUGE. He has 14 brothers and sisters,  9 of whom are directly related the other 5 aree half brothers and sisters,  and that doesn’t even count the 7 grandchildren and 4 great grandchildren. So the hosting is usually for the 9 he has then I have 2 sister and a brother dad,  dad’s wife, 3 aunts,  2 uncles,  3  1st cousins and their 3 kids so it’s a pretty big event and baby I’m so glad I don’t have to cook for that many ppl this year but someone will be hosting so we’ll be house hopping tomorrow.

Today the Kids are out of school and I couldn’t find anyone to watch them because everyone has to work today and Dh gets off early but not early enough for me to leave my babies at home and I’m going to need the remainder of my vacation time at the end of this year for winter break. So call me ghetto but I had to bring my babies to work with me today LOL. They only stayed for 2 hours and they are very well behaved as a matter of fact had I not told my boss he wouldn’t have known that they were here lol. Afterwards I took them home and put in a movie and lunch and DH is pulling up now. I’m thankful for obedient children . I never ever ever have problems out of them like being loud and disorderly,  or fighting heck they don’t even fight each other. They argue from time to time and tell on each other but that’s about it.

I think I am really going to enjoy this no hosting,  relaxing and maxing 4 day weekend Holiday thing that we got going here. I plan on going skating Friday or Saturday – rollerskating that is LOL. I almost busted my bootie on the ice I don’t think I have that one down yet. And we plan to go bowling so this will be a really fun family weekend. I’m talking about me DH,  DS and DD. We always try to do family things on the weekend and now since Pee Wee football season is over we actually get to sleep in on a Saturday and just enjoy the day without having to be here or there at a certain time which is a relief also. I am THANKFUL for breaks in my schedule. Although starting next week basketball practice and cheerleading competition practices and girl and boy scouts will become the new priority. Gotta keep em’ busy and keep their minds active as well. I am determined to not let them get lazy and lay around all day but to find stimulating things to do other than vegging out infront of the tv on the couch  or having their minds completely sucked of imagination by video games lol. In an effort to keep myself active as well I do these things with them.

 

Um well I think that is all that’s on the schedule for this weekend. You all have very very happy thanksgiving and remember to give thanks daily and not just one day out of the Year. God is worthy of all of our thanks and even more.

Let’s ring in the Holidays. I NEED MORE COWBELL!!!!!! LOL

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
November 22, 2006

Have a Happy Thanksgiving luv!

November 22, 2006

sounds like a fun weekend. rest and enjoy!

“(running mouth and parlaying)”… and men say that we are the TALKERS!!! Lol…have a gr8 day filled with God’s goodness 😛 Love and prayers!

Happy Thanksgiving. You have me drooling over the small little meal you are cooking. I love jerk chicken and home made baked mac & cheese. If you lived closer, I might have shown up on your doorstep.

November 22, 2006

Sounds like you’ve got it made! I’m thankful for you that you don’t have to cook. Kimo just springs stuff on me too sometimes and I hate that! I wanted to cook a little something for the two of us to have after we make our rounds, but he didn’t want to, but I told him I’m doing a little something for Christmas! RYN: Thank you for remembering me in your prayers. I have a pretty good feeling about everything.

November 22, 2006

Happy thanksgiving dinner full of sweet laughter, love and peace.

November 23, 2006

Happy Thanksgiving!

November 23, 2006

Have a God blessed Thanksgiving Day!

RYN: we know that we are “the one”, but he has not asked or even hinted about asking anytime soon…part of me is like “how long Lord?!?” and the other part is like, “am i really ready anyway?” so…we’ll see in the future…i need to start utilizing this ‘in the meantime’ to prepare myself for the wife role…wow… ok, i need to go pray i just started panicking!! Lol…be blessed!!!