Pleasant Surprises

Happy Monday people.

Cuz got to go home yesterday,  I’m happy about that. He is somewhat happy and somewhat not. You see he just got a promotion on his Job to be a District Sales Manager for his store location and this accident has set him back. He actually cried the day of the accident about some management classes that he needed to be at the next day and my aunt,  his mom,  had to remind him that he doesn’t need to worry about that he needs to be concerned with the fact that he has life in his body. He is very stubborn and bull headed but that is a blessing and a curse for him. It’s a blessing in the fact that he has sooo much drive and persistance. He is 24 years old with a bachelors in Business Management possibly thinking about going back to get his MBA. He has his own place no kids, working as a store manager for Walgreens. And all of this came from growing up in a single parent family home until he was 11 then his mom got married. He had many many people tell him that he would grow up to be nothing (why I don’t know or get) and he has fought against all those odds and made something out of himself. As a young black man he refused to be a statistic and I love that about him. On the other hand he has this fascination with being street. Like he doesn’t sale drugs or do hardcore drugs for that matter but he hangs with the worst bunch of idiots. And sad to say it but they are our cousins. Knuckleheads that stay in trouble and have atleast 2-3 baby mamas. Thank God he hasn’t fallen into the trap but his mom and I cannot understand WHY he feels the need to hang with them. It’s like he WANTS to be a thug but he doesn’t have it in him. Shoot I know I used to tease him and beat him up as a kid and watch him cry (OMGOSH he was th BIGGEST crybaby LOL.) Like the things that dopeboys sell dope to attain he has always had and now can afford to buy. Alot of the dopeboys see that and they rob him,  jump him. And to me it’s like when the streets ain’t showing you no love like THAT then maybe it’s time to just walk away. But that’s where the curse of his bullheadedness comes in. He will go right back to the same ones that hurt him. I just don’t get it. And his mom definitely doesn’t get it. I don’t really ascribe to astrology but the boy is a taurus and we all know how stubborn they are lol. Maybe that’s it I dunno. But I went to see him yesterday and he seemed to be okay. I asked him how he felt about getting saved, and he told me he wasn’t ready so that’s okay but I’m still praying. He has to rehab for 3-6 months and walk with a walker. I’m praying all goes well for him but I’m happy he gets to go home.

Today I got to work and found out that we are going out to lunch as a department for a coworker and my birthday. Going to Olive Garden. How sweet is that? My birthday is this Thursday the 12th. I used to get really excited about my birthdays and gifts and such but the past 5 years or so we’re always so broke that I really don’t get to celebrate it so I don’t even look forward to it anymore. I’ll be out witnessing with the church this week on my birthday and to me that is a present within itself to get to know the community and pray with folk and just share the Love of Jesus yanno? I have to sing in a wedding over the weekend for a Cousin and they want to pay me so hey maybe I can go get a massage or something somewhere and celebrate that as a birthday present? Yeah I think I might do that!  Sounds like fun.

 

 

weight loss weblog

 

~He that hath no rule over his own spirit is like a city that is broken down, and without walls.~

 

Proverbs 25:28

Log in to write a note
July 9, 2007

ryn: thank you for the prayers. i need it. i’ll be back around to catch up w/ your entries and such. tc

Amen sista.. That verse discribes me to a t! I have a bad habit of giving up and accepting less than what I am worth.You just inspired me to get up and fight!

I’m glad your cousin is back home and he’s doing well. HOpefully, everything will work out for him. The thing about him hanging out with people like that is I think “you lay down with dogs, you are going to get fleas.” That’s what I keep trying to tell my neice.

July 11, 2007

I’m glad your cousin doing well and heading back home. I know you will enjoy your birthday!