Happy Halloween

Happy Halloween!  

Hope all of the little ghouls and goblins have a safe, fun trick or treating tonight. 

 

 

This will be our first time going out trick or treating so it should be interesting.  Last year we weren’t home for Halloween and were to busy with getting ready for the auction the next day that we didn’t get to go out anywhere.  But this year K has been so excited about it for the past couple of months that we are going to give it a shot.  I asked him yesterday if he wanted to go out door to door and get candy and treats and he said yes.  So we’ll give it a try, if he doesn’t like it oonce we get out there we can always come home.

 

The stupidest part about it is that it starts at 4 p.m.   There is absolutely NO ONE around this neighborhood at that time of day.  Well, I shouldn’t say that.  There are a few retired people and  what not that are around but no one is giving out treats at that time of day.  Our neighborhood never comes alive with people until at least 6.  It’s suppoed to run from 4-8 tonight.  I think that’s the schedule they set every year.  But it seems no one cares much about what the village says on that.  We likely won’t get anyone that early, but I guarantee you that we’ll have people ringing our doorbell well past 9.  One year we ran out of candy and shut our lights off, didn’t stop the madness.  Another year we shut off the lights when it reached about 8-8:30, and yet kids still wandered through the darkness to get to our door.  We’ve even had kids ringing our bell until 10 or so.  I hate it becuase it always ends up that we get just hordes of high school aged kids once it gets dark, and they are the ones that never seem to know when to give up.  I’m sorry, but if you can drive your own car to a neighborhood and park it on the street, get out and start ringing bells begging for candy you need to get a life! 

 

Yesterday the kids and I baked a Halloween cake.  And then while they napped I baked two dozen pumpkin cookies.  Of course, when DH came home the first thing K said to him was "Daddy I baked a cake today.  Mommy just helped me."  lol  Glad I could be of ‘help’ to the little guy!  lol   And then he promptly broke into singing "Happy Birthday" to DH because he insisted it was for his birthday.    When I went to frost it I noticed these little missing pieces in the top.  And lo and behold, they looked just like little finger holes!  lol  So I asked K who had done that.  Usually he would at least attempt to tell us that it was his little brother.   But he looked right at me and said "I did", which took me by surprise.  I asked him why he did that and he said "Because it’s so yummy Mommy!  It was DELICIOUS!"  lol Can’t get mad at that I guess!  (not that I would have anyway)  And because I "helped" him bake a cake yesterday he kept coming up to me and giving me hugs, stroking my cheek and telling me "Mommy, your the biggest sweetheart I’ve ever seen".  Awwwwww…..  Nice sentiment, but I know that his motives were not entirely pure they were CAKE driven!  lol

 

Well, I’m off.  Have to try and keep the fact that TODAY is actually Halloween from the little ones.  Or I will never have a chance of them taking a nap this afternoon.  lol

 

 

                                                                          HAPPY HALLOWEEN EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!!

Log in to write a note
October 31, 2008

Awwww 🙂 He sure knows how to butter up his Mama. lol I hope the boys had fun trick or treating! I’m suprised that you get four hours! We only have two here.