A day of possible change

I am most certainly not a person who discusses politics with people.  Everyone I know knows that we just agree to disagree on that topic.  When it comes to elections and the candidates who are running, everyone has their own opinions on that and their own reasons for the choices they support.

But one thing I have always felt kind of strongly about is that if you don’t vote you have no right to complain about how things go or who is in office.  You have not earned that right to have an opinion AFTER the fact if you wouldn’t step up when it really counted and voiced your opinion by voting.  We, as a country, have had at least 18 months to research these candidates and learn what they are all about.  Coming down to today and saying you don’t know who to vote for because you don’t know enough about them is just ignorant and not a good excuse to not vote.  For the first time in a long time I think there is a chance that things could turn out for the better.  I feel strongly towards one candidate and will be casting my vote tonight when DH comes home.  It’s time for a change and I hope that happens today. 

If you haven’t already, get out and vote today!!!!  If you don’t, then don’t complain later.  (ok, stepping down off my soapbox and letting this topic rest)

 

I have so many things that I should be doing, but I’m kind of in limbo.  I’m still waiting on that phone call to hear whether or not there is more that I will be expected to do for the party this weekend or if there will even be one.  DH and I agreed that we are putting any more planning on hold until we hear more information.  We’ve already spent some money on food.  But I’ve put on hold ordering the cake.  Would hate for all of this to fall through and get stuck with a full sized sheet cake.  Yikes!

Yesterday alone I got TWO emails from my Mom saying she doesn’t want a party from anyone, including her employer.  I guess she told them if they made a big deal and threw a party there she wanted to just leave early.  She doesn’t want to go out for dinner Friday night.  She doesn’t want to do anything.  All she wants is a quiet night at home to relax and enjoy herself.  While this is *supposed* to be a surprise party I think my Mom has caught on to the fact something is up.  I don’t know why else she continues to say she doesnt’ want a party and people need to just to get that through their heads, etc. 

Personally, I think the whole plan should just be forgotten and everyone move on.  But I know that won’t happen because the idiot planning this last minute crapfest thinks he’s being clever and will continue doing what he wants to do even if no one else wants it.  That’s just how he is.  He doesn’t listen to anyone, doesnt’ care what anyone else thinks and does only what HE wants.  He’d do anything for FREE food, which this is to him becuase he’s not paying for any fo the actual food.  But since I know that this stupid party will actually take place whether I want it to or not, whether my MOM wants it or not I know that I will NEED to be there for it.  That’s all there is to it. 

So hopefully today at some point I’ll get the phone call that clears things up so more.  But I don’t think that will be until much later today.  Everything until the last minute……..

 

I am so freakin’ tired these days.  I get a good night’s sleep and it jsut never seems to be enough.  By midafternoon I am soooooo ready for a nap it’s not even funny.  But of course, no naps for me.  This weekend I got so exhausted I could hardly keep my eyes open.  I got up at 7 on Sunday, which is WAAAAAYYYY earlier than I normally get up on Sunday.  But I just couldn’t sleep. So I got up, went down and laid on the couch to watch a little TV and lo and behold fell asleep down there.  lol  We went out and ran errands, which really aren’t all that physically demanding.  We came home and played with the kids outside for quite a while.  Came back in and put the kids down for a nap, DH and I settled in on the couch to watch a movie and just relax while it was quiet. And I apparently fell asleep again!  to top it off I went to bed early Sunday night too.  I am just soooooooo tired these days.  I was hoping that I would get past that at some point but I don’t know.  I’m not used to being this tired in the 2nd trimester.  Ugh.

And speaking of playing outside with the kids.  We were out there just playing and horsing around.  Our street is not usually a busy one, but we live a couple of houses in from a corner so we get plenty of traffic.  A few months ago we got new neighbors a couple of houses down from us.  And they happen to have a teenaged son.  On Sunday the kid had a couple of friend over that, for whatever reason, kept coming and going and bringing back different vehicles ever so often.  I think in the 30-45 minutes we were playing in our front yard they came through with 3 different vehicles. 

The last time they came through I was standing out closer to the street and the kids had just went past me back into the yard towards the house.  They had jsut been out where I was.  And all of a sudden DH and I hear this horrible screeching of tires and looked.  Here these two kids that had been running around back and forth to our neighbors house came back with a different car came careening around the corner by our house.  They never slowed down for the corner and were travelling about 45 mph or so when they hit that corner.  That car seriously looked like it would just roll it was leaning so badly to one side.  And the tires were just screaming against the pavement.  I turned around and watched this car and those idiot kids were looking right at me as they drove by and were actually LAUGHING.  Grrrr…  A few seconds later the neighbor kid came around the corner with his truck and must have seen at least part of it.  He parked in his driveway and these two idiots from the other car jumped out and ran up to him laughing and pointing and thinking they were hot stuff. The neighbor kid looked over our way and saw we were watching them and that our kids were out in the yard.  I told DH if that happens again I was going to go in and call the police on them for the way they were driving. 

We played out there for a little wihle longer.  After the idiots talked to the neighbor he said something to them and they left, driving much quieter in the opposite direction.  We took th ekids in to put them down for their naps.  And I went back out to get the mail and get our stuff out of the van.  And I turned around and there stood the neighbor kid.  He scared me to death just quietly coming up like that and standing!  He said he wanted to apologize for his idiotic friends.  He said the guy who was driving is an absolute adrenaline junkie and doing crap like that gets him going.  He apologized and apologized for their behavior.  I told him it wasn’t him but it better not happen again or we’ll do something about it.  I told him that there are to many little kids on our end of the str

eet for his friends to be driving like that in the neighborhood.  The way he was driving and the speed he was going there was no way he would have ever been able to avoid a child if they ahd run out in the street.  None.  He apologized again and said he would make sure it never happened again.  I thanked him for coming over and he walked back home.  I was impressed that a teenaged boy thought enough about apologizing for something someone else did on his own without being told to by a parent or something.  Even DH was impressed when I told him.  Since then we’ve not had any problems with his friends driving like that.  But if it ever does happen again, I will be calling the police.  We just can’t risk the safety of the kids on our street with idiots who drive like that.

Well, I"m off to try and get something done.  If I can pry my tired butt up and get moving.  I really could use a nap.  Boy that would be nice!

Log in to write a note
November 4, 2008

I’m impressed with that kid too – honestly – wow! Idiot friends but still… wow! Maybe you are more tired cuz it’s a……………. boy sucking the life out of you! LOL.. are you kidding? I’m not going to jinx it!