TV night

Sunday night is my favorite night for Japanese TV. It’s kids’ shows. Starting at 1800, there is a show about a spunky kindergartener (I know she in kindergarten by her little yellow hat) and her family. Then, there is a show about a spunky housewife and her family. At 1900, a sandal wearing police officer routinely gets himself into trouble with his chief, but somehow always saves the day. All of these are interesting enough and fun because I can follow the basic plots and the dialogue. I also almost always learn a new word or two (last night I learned kagee, which is key). But, at 1930, the fun really starts. My favorite cartoon is One Piece. One Piece is about pirates. Luffee is a stretchy young pirate wanted across the seven seas, and Nami is a fiery redhead with bold ideas. Also in the crew are a karate master/chef, a sword-fighting master, a young lady with magical powers, an engineer with a long nose, and a kind of antlered creature who seems to be a pharmacist. This band of misfit pirates has ongoing adventures (like a soap opera); sometimes the shows are funny, and sometimes they can be quite violent and dark. For example, last night, Luffee and his cohort, the sword-fighting master, were killed in a bar fight, only to be revived by a cherry pie eating pirate-philosopher. Meanwhile a karaoke singing ape’s awful rendition of some traditional song caused vibrations that ripped apart the pirates’ boat. After One Piece, at 2000, there is a one-hour sketch variety show kind of like Kids in the Hall, but it starts every week with a game show. All of the participants dress like bugs and play a word game. I get a lot of new vocabulary from this show, too. The rest of the week, unless it’s a game show, infomercial or travel documentary, Japanese TV is too hard for me to follow, so I don’t bother watching; I read. 🙂 Which, by the way, in honor of the coming Ides of March, I am reading Colleen McCullough’s Ceasar.

Reading maketh a full man; conference a ready man; and writing an exact man – Francis Bacon.

Log in to write a note

Did ‘women who run with the wolves ‘ show up yet? 🙂 *SaFFRoN*

Cartoons are the best! =)

March 9, 2003

i’ve always thought children’s TV was a good way to learn a language.

March 9, 2003

Ah…only in Japan…only in Japan. Enjoy, and write at ya later. Take care… Laters…

March 9, 2003

RYN: Not to mention having a husband. (they leave more messes…of every kind, than children and pets combined!) *smile*

March 9, 2003

TV is an excellent way to get a feel for the way a language is actually used without risking the embarrasment of practicing on actual people, I suppose. I would be SO uncomfortable being immersed into a different language and culture, I have such a small comfort zone. I hope I would adapt even half as well as you have! Tom-

March 9, 2003

I can’t stand Colleen – I read The Thorn Birds because everybody raved about it, but really, she’s so ugh. One of my lecturers at Uni told me once that she almost went bankrupt because of her ancient Rome books.

March 10, 2003

RYN: According to Graham Haley….scrunch up some old pantyhose, and rub it over the white streaks…should take them right off. (and you should see all the things he did with a tube of plain old white toothpaste!)

March 10, 2003

RYN: Thank you, I hope I can remain open-minded if I have to go. To hear my co-workers talk after their trips there it sounds like the people love their vices LOL! I don’t like smoke and I don’t drink, so I fear that I will be a pariah when it’s time to conduct business after hours. Tom-

March 10, 2003

Lol that has got to be the funniest thing I’ve heard all day…..”Jostens screwed up my ring, and that was 17 years ago. Nice to know they are still providing that quality service.” that’s great, thanks for the smile.

fun 🙂