Please, don’t sit on my ancestors!

On Friday I had to go downstairs to the telephone office because I am having a problem with the phone at my new desk. It is easier to get things done if you go in person, rather than call, as you have the added benefit of pantomime to help explain the problem. In order to get to the engineer’s office, you must first go through the switchboard operator’s office. Our switchboard operator is a sweet young lady with a friendly smile. On Friday, though, she seemed somewhat distressed as I made my way through her office, and she cautioned me to be careful where I stepped. I assumed that someone had spilled something. I did notice a new decoration and an arrangement of flowers on the table behind her desk, but forgot to complement her on them. Later, the gentleman from the payroll office told me that she was concerned because she had brought her ancestors to work with her (I am not sure which ones or their relationship with the switchboard operator). Her mother had a doctor’s appointment and she didn’t want to leave them at home alone all day. She was worried that everyone tromping through the office might unintentionally offend. Japanese people, seeing the display, would automatically know what was going on and behave appropriately. But, those of us who haven’t had the benefit of indoctrination at an early age could come right in, say something offensive and sit right on Granddad. Again, this is not a joke. The Japanese take this very seriously – even those Japanese who otherwise live very secular lives. I enjoy the solemnity of Japanese custom. I don’t think Westerners treat their own holy days with the same awe, reverence, and unwavering faith. We are so lost in the gift giving and egg coloring that we miss the mystery of it all. Once my family went to see the monks at the monastery in Washington DC act out the Passion of the Lord; it is a very solemn ritual, with every minute recreated as closely as possible – it goes on for the whole of the Easter weekend until the tomb is found empty and a mass is celebrated. That was deeply moving, but you don’t see that sort of thing much anymore. My phone still doesn’t work properly, but I think I’ll wait until the spirits go back to their own world before I stomp through the switchboard office again. 🙂

Log in to write a note

I think that practicing Catholics are fairly unique among Westerners for maintaining their reverence for Holy days. Even deeply religious Protestants only observe the most Holy days with such reverence, I suppose the rituals and traditions of the Catholic church are more deeply held and taught. RYN: I’m a binge reader, since I have read so many different things over the years I (cont’d.)

(cont’d.) tend to find an author or genre that I like and read everything available. I love mysteries and whodunits, I have serially read Agatha Christie, Erle Stanley Gardner, Kinky Friedman (a guilty pleasure, that one), John Grisham, and Tom Clancy; and my all-time favorite book is To Kill a Mockingbird. I also read the occasional biography. Tom-

How soon before the ancestors return to the afterlife? Interesting that even secular Japanese take that so seriously. RYN: No, i don’t line dance any more. i don’t know of any places to go, and don’t go to bars. i only line danced in class, unfortunately.

🙂