live and let live

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

<w:LsdException Locked=”false” Priority=”73″ SemiHidden=”false”
UnhideWhenUsed=”false” Name=”Colorful Grid Accent 1″ />

<w:LsdException Locked="false" Priority="64" SemiHidden="false"
UnhideWhenUsed=”false” Name=”Medium Shading 2 Accent 6″ />

We had a little snow today, just flurries here in the valley, but the mountains got some accumulation. It was very pretty watching it from the window. I have the flu, and for the first time ever I “called in sick.” I did not go to work today because I was sick. In the Army, if you were sick, you had to get up and go to work. The CQ would give you a “sick call slip,” and you would go to the walk in clinic to wait for hours with all of the other sick folks to be seen by a doctor. When it was your turn (and by now your fever was down) the doctor would look at you and say, “OK, you’re sick. Go to the pharmacy and pick up some Motrin and Cepacol. You can stay in your quarters for the rest of the day.” You then had to wait in the pharmacy for another hour or so, take the “sick call slip” back to the CQ to let the unit know what had become of you, and go to bed. It was usually 1400 or so and the duty day was almost over anyway. So, it was just easier for everyone if you went to work and toughed it out. Calling in sick is so cool. I called and said, “I’m sick and not coming to work.” And, then I didn’t go to work. I slept. I drank tea. I watched the flurries. It is amazing. Of course, I will not abuse the privilege, but I feel so much better, despite not having any Motrin or Cepacol.

My daughter is a working journalist, and today she got a story on the front page, above the fold, of one of the papers she freelances for. I am so proud of her. She graduated in May of this year and is supporting herself in her chosen field. How many people can say that?

I am convinced that the camera on my computer is on all of the time, even when the green light is off. It’s not like I’m doing anything worth watching, but it kind of creeps me out a little.

My tea tag said, "Live and let live."

Log in to write a note
January 7, 2012

I was trying to figure out how old your daughter would be now. I have no doubt she got much of her journalism talent from her mother. RYN: My eyes have always been poor, I’ve worn glasses for nearsightedness since I was seven years old. If I’m wearing correction that will let me see the target then I can’t see the front sight. Optics, or at least a red dot, are my only option for any distance or with poor light. I hope you feel better, Merry.

January 7, 2012

I just remembered that since you last wrote here regularly I’ve changed jobs. I now work for the company that manufactures the M240, the M249, and most of the M16s that are purchased by the DoD. I get to fire a lot of fun weapons now!

January 8, 2012

We encourage sick people to NOT come to work – in hopes that the rest of us don’t get ‘it’. Isn’t it great to see your kids doing well in their chosen career? I keep reminding my daughter how fortunate she is to be doing something she loves! My dad hated his job and started literally counting the days til retirement years in advance …

January 8, 2012

ryn: thanks for you comment 🙂 it was nice that you identified with what i was speaking about 🙂