keep your suggestions to yourself

Today, I committed a major faux pas. I suggested to one of our secretaries that rather than printing out blank forms from the Form Flow and then filling them in by hand using CARBON PAPER (please press hard), it would be much easier to type the information into the Form on the computer and print out as many clear copies as needed plus keep an electronic record. It would make her job a lot easier. To her it seemed like a criticism, and you never criticize the Japanese – they lose face. Face is important, so I had to grovel and dissemble – of course she has so many important duties; of course I was only thinking that it is impossible for anyone to handle the amazing amount of work she does with such ease; yes, this idea might make things easier for a lesser secretary, but she doesn’t need to do this.

A Japanese friend of a friend of mine works for a major manufacturing company, which has bilateral relationships with other manufacturing companies worldwide. The friend of my friend (confused yet?) was complaining about how difficult it is to coordinate with other companies overseas, as blueprints and specifications do not fax well. My friend suggested emailing the documents instead, but his Japanese friend informed him that the company uses its own specific software, which is incompatible with everyone else’s, to discourage theft of the company’s ideas. My friend then suggested using Adobe to scan and send the images. The friend of my friend admitted that this is a good idea and would work well; unfortunately, it could never happen. If he were to propose this to his boss, then his boss would look foolish because he didn’t think of it himself. The boss would lose face and the respect of his team of employees. Since the boss was not computer literate, the team had to suffer in silence and continue to fax the documents. My friend suggested that his friend (confused yet?) put a suggestion in the suggestion box; that way, it would be anonymous and private – no one need know where the boss got his brilliant idea. The Japanese friend of my friend didn’t understand the idea of a suggestion box, but after it was explained to him, he was appalled. To even have a suggestion box would suggest that the employees might have better ideas than the boss (though the friend admits that this is entirely possible). If the employees have better ideas than the boss, why would he be the boss?

Log in to write a note
June 16, 2003

It’s incomprehensible to me that the Land of Continuous Improvement hasn’t assimilated those concepts into its society. I understand the importance of face and hierarchy to the society but I didn’t realize that the culture hadn’t adapted to the need to accept new methods. I always find your glimpses of Japanese culture to be fascinating. Tom-

As a secretary, I am constantly looking for ways, suggestions of ways or anything that can make my multi-tasking, stress hell-hole of a job easier…LOL, but then I am not Japanese. Interesting perspective on why NOT to be creative.

June 16, 2003

It’s been my experience that employees often have better ideas than the boss! (particularly when it comes to saving themselves time and energy) It’s a shame that saving face is more important than utilizing ideas and skills that could make everyone’s jobs a little easier.

the ones actually doing the job tend to figure out how it could be done easier whereas the boss is busy doing other things, how sad they are stuck doing it the hard way until some boss has a brain wave and goes “aha!” Pride like that is very hard for me to understand and I’m sure happy to be able to learn about it reading your entries! HUGS!

June 18, 2003

Hey, thanks for the note! 🙂 And yea, I do need to get out more…LOL!