Fuji-san

When I first moved here, I was unimpressed by Fuji-san (Mount Fuji). He was everywhere – postcards, woodcuts, pictures, calendars, T-shirts, signs – it was Fuji-san overload. I swore I would own no Fuji merchandise. He was cliché for Japan. It seemed like his majesty was overwhelmed by his commercial value. However, in the seven months since I have had a change of heart. I have glimpsed him from afar on a clear day. I have gone quite close and tilted my head to see his peak. Japan is a land of mountains, but Fuji-san stands alone, rising from the plains. He really does watch over the Japanese people, always there, solid, dependable, even though you can’t always see him – a silent presence in all of our lives.

I am waiting for Fuji season to open. There is a small window over the summer when you can climb Fuji-san. You start in the evening and climb all night. There are stations along the way to stop and have your souvenir walking stick engraved (I can do without the souvenir) and one place to buy eggs cooked in the volcanic ash, which will extend your life. If you keep up the pace, you can reach the summit by sunrise.

I have not yet climbed Fuji-san, but my loved one did before I got here. He climbed all night; when he reached the top, he called me in DC on his cell-phone so we could experience the sunrise together. It was very beautiful and romantic. This summer I hope he can be there with me, in person, otherwise, I’ll have to call him on my cell phone.

I think, perhaps, if I find just the right rendering, I may take Fuji-san home with me after all. 🙂

Log in to write a note
March 2, 2003

Well already then…and hey, there is nothing wrong with dancing. My kids do it, and they want me to join them a lot of the time. Silly willings…but hey I love ’em, so I do. It’s not that I have a problem with the grands, it’s just that I am ONE person, and I was doing so much with so little, and it was never enough for them. I am tired of hearing the same things from her every time we…

March 2, 2003

talk about this messed up life that has been going on with me and the kids. And now that there is a possible molestaion spoken, it’s even worse. Yeah, I should have gotten a divorce 6 months ago, or gotten out of the Navy, and gone home to Kansas. But I kept trying…she is the mother of these kids. But that just didn’t work. And now I HAVE TO PAY for it every time I talk to her. Later

March 2, 2003

I wasn’t aware that Fuji-san rose from a plain! Not unlike a couple of granite knobs here in the USA, most notably Stone Mountain in Georgia I suppose, though on a grander scale. I have seen Stone Mountain from the ground on many ocassions but I didn’t realize what an anomaly it was until I flew over it once, seeing it standing alone from above was breathtaking. Tom-

I would like to climb up in the dark to watch the sunrise, sounds amazing. That would be cool if you husband was able to be there with you. I’ve been wondering why it is that you are there and he is where he is, what kind of jobs keep you apart?

March 2, 2003

Nothing would entice me into climbing a mountain…night or day…but i hope you’ll share your experience with us.

Hey!Thanks for your note! I will write more when I am not hurrying to get to work!

Awww. How sweet that he called you! That is SO romantic! And thanks for the note. We rehearsed the entire first act today and I think I have my number DOWN COLD! BRRRR! LOL. Anyway, I have an early day tomorrow so I look forward to reading you some more!

I’ve always wanted to climb Fuji-san. Have never seen him myself, but it’s high on my list of things to do, if and when. Sharing the dawn as you did/will sounds sooooo romantic….