Dangerously Exposed

Over the past year I have come to some conclusions about life, the universe and everything (a weak Hitchhiker’s reference – I just saw the movie adaptation and was sorely disappointed).  My father’s rather abrupt passing (which I will address at another time) triggered some reflection.  My most significant insight is that I need to be more honest with myself.

I have decided that I really need to come clean in Merry Melancholy, to drop my fig leaf so to speak.

I would like to start with my job.  Except for my "whatever" entries, I have never actually come out and said what it is I do for a living – part of it is beacuse I am aware of a certain stigma many people attach to the profession (I am not a hooker, but I did work in a strip club once.)  People who have read closely probably figured it out long ago (I think Dreams Came True did).  I am a soldier, a MSG/E8 in the United States Army.  When I go on a business trip it is usually to somewhere crappy most people do not want to go.  

My husband is also a soldier.  The Army has been kind and rarely sends away us at the same time – our daughter generally has one parent at home.  The Army also tries to keep us stationed together, but at times we have had to wait apart several months for orders.  We are never apart by choice.  Still, time apart is hard on a marriage and family, especially in the stressful environments where we find ourselves.  We have had our share of trouble (also to be addressed another time), but that is all over for us.  We’re retiring, moving to Arizona and buying our dream home in the very town where we met and fell in love.

My alter ego freelances for periodicals and I hope to parlay that into something of an occupation.  My beloved is a brilliant essayest who I hope will also be published even if I have to publish him myself.

As if I haven’t already said enough, I have decided to post two photos of my most recent business trip.  My team mates’ faces are of course blocked out. 

image hosted by photobucket.com

image hosted by photobucket.com

Thanks for stopping by – have a great day 🙂

Log in to write a note
August 31, 2005

Thanks for sharing. I like all of your ideas.

August 31, 2005

I’m sure you will have a successful career as a writer, if your diary is any indication! *smile* I’m glad you’re both retiring and coming back to the states.

August 31, 2005

I knew you had been with the Armed Forces in some capacity for some period of time, and I was pretty sure you were still in government service in some capacity whether as active duty, reserve, or civil service. It’s a shame that you felt that your career was looked down upon, you should hold your head high and be proud of what you did and how you served. I look forward to reading (cont’d.)

August 31, 2005

(cont’d.) anything you have published, I enjoy your style and the way you engage your readers. Thanks for the prayers, I appreciate them. And thanks for sharing your photo and story, I understand your desire to be mysterious and vague but it’s nice to meet the actual diarist formerly known as merry melancholy. Tom-

I asked you once and you told me but I’m super glad to see a real picture of you that wasn’t from a couple acres away! awesome you guys are settling down together!

October 10, 2005

I can see from having read your diary introduction and this entry that you have a talent for writing. I both you and your beloved the best of luck in turning writing into a career.

October 10, 2005

*I wish both you and…. You probably guessed that, but I’m a perfectionist and I hate to be vague.

February 10, 2006

I hope you’re getting settled into that house in Arizona you wrote about. I miss your entries, I hope you will return to this little corner of the internet soon. Tom-