a walk would do the country good

A news broadcast mentioned that many people chose not to fly on September 11th and that people were even staying away from other forms of mass transit. People are choosing not to be married or celebrate other important events on September 11th – as it would be overshadowed by THE September 11th and might possibly be unlucky. I know the President has designated it Patriots’ Day, and people all over the world came together and mourned the events of two years ago. But, I think we can do better. Since people aren’t flying or taking the train anyway, I think we should ban all forms of transportation (other than emergencies, of course) on Patriots’ Day. If you can’t get there under your own power, you don’t need to be going. People can walk, bike, roller blade, pedicab, piggy back themselves around. Lazy people can just stay home. Transportation systems would have one day a year chance to perform unobstructed maintenance. Alternative transportation can be the watchword. People can expend their energies cleaning up their communities and helping out their neighbors (sort of in that spirit of togetherness brought on by the terrorist attacks). Lazy people can just keep out of the way. It would be so way better than Earth Day (which so many people seem to ignore). And, it would be the one day a year when we don’t rely on any Middle Eastern Oil – think of all the calories we would be burning, instead. Everyone can start focusing on life. To really stick it to the terrorists, though, all of the heroin addicts would need to lay off, too.

Today was an exceptionally productive Saturday. My house is now in a state of PDC (pretty darn clean) – on the inside, I need to do yard work tomorrow. I also completed my lesson plan for tomorrow. My loved one is teaching the 6th grade religious education at our church, but as he is away on business I am the sub. We’re kind of like Bill and Hilary, two for the price of one. The cat has been coughing up around 3 hairballs a day; I don’t know where they’re all coming from (I mean I know they’re from the CAT, but at this rate he should be BALD).

For Saffron and Wayward – Tubs of yogurt here come with a tiny packet of sugary nonpareils type sweetener that supposedly dissolves in your yogurt, that way it is as sweet as YOU like it, not some yogurt factory flunkie. However, if you just eat it plain, these packets accumulate in the “various” drawer in the kitchen (along with KFC wet wipes and packets of Chinese hot mustard and soy sauce). If you put them into your tea, they just settle to the bottom. Tomorrow after class, I’ll stop and get some real sugar.

Log in to write a note

Maybe your cat is grooming all the neighbor cats too, LOL! I actually like your idea for Patriot’s Day, it would be interesting to see how that would work here. Tom-

just smiling 🙂

How did this entry go from 9/11 to Colonel Sanders and mustard and soy sauce? I think there was supposed to be an intermission in there somewhere— I’m sure of it.

Thank you for the explanation. i think i’d prefer real sugar, too. *smile* I know a little boy who was born on THE Sept 11th.

I’d love to see your plan for alternative transportation! I wouldn’t be able to get too far that day as town is a 15 minute drive but to just stay home and go for a walk with the kids would be good. 🙂 9/11 changed very little of my life and I’ll likely get yelled at for this but 2 years after John died i was felling better about it, not just as bad or worse and was confused at the news programs..

of people in worse states than the year before. Can’t go back people, ONWARD! that sweetener sounds nasty! :P~

RYN: Oh yes…do buy a WetJet!! I swear by mine! (as opposed to swearing AT it)

I haven’t read back far enough yet to find out why you’re in Japan. Are you military? If so, have you ever been in Germany and had that terrible German sugar, the stuff that a nuclear blast wouldn’t dissolve?