A Bit of Christmas Angst

I don’t know what it is about Christmas.  I absolutely LOVE the idea of Christmas, everything about it – the Goodwill, the Charity, Family and Friends (with capital F’s), Peace, Joy, Hope, Love, Christmas Eve Mass, carols, trees, decorations, Santa, the Christmas Pickle, baking, giving gifts, eggnog (mmm, I love the nog).  Every year I dream of the perfect Christmas; every year it eludes me.

 

When I was a kid Christmases were OK, corporations would donate toys and clothes and stuff to the children’s home – it was about the only time of the year you got the chance of having something brand ing new, all your own.  After I was adopted, Christmases became Family Christmases.  My parents would always get into an argument.  Then, I would be forced to spend the day with my mom’s family – a huge gathering of silently stewing, passive aggressive tightasses who never missed the opportunity to remind me that not only wasn’t I really a member of the family, I wasn’t even suitably Germanic (the German heritage problem eased after I became more fluent in German than any of the other cousins).   After I left home, I refused to celebrate the holiday at all.  Until I got married and had a child, that is.  I was determined that my husband and daughter would have wonderful Christmases; something always got in my way, though.  Some years it was separation – my husband would travel and I would be left to make a whole houseful of Christmas cheer on my own.  One year, when I was in Bosnia the first time, I missed Christmas with them altogether.  Some years, especially the last three years, it has been marital discord.

 

I know the holidays are hard on my husband.  He s them with a passion.  His family fought, too.  His birthday is in December, too, the same day his dad was buried when he was 14.  It’s enough to turn anyone, even someone who is not clinically depressed, off the whole season.  I keep hoping, every year, that this will be the one.  Not this year, though.

 

I blew it.  I ruined Christmas one more time.  Same Trouble, three years in a row.  I could have kept quiet and waited until the holiday was over before I said anything.  I should have.  But, as I saw through him, he would have seen right through me, literally, since there is a massive, gaping hole in my chest. 

Log in to write a note
December 21, 2003

i’m sorry it won’t be the “perfect” holiday for you this year. i hope you find at least some peace and goodwill. Btw, a pickle???? For Christmas?? Please explain.

December 21, 2003

I had no idea that you were old enough to remember Christmases like that before you were adopted. How sad to have to endure strain and feel unaccepted at Christmas! And for your husband to have such a bad memory of this time of year certainly doesn’t help. If I may offer one tiny bit of advice that might help you get through it next year, don’t even strive for perfection. I know (cont’d.)

December 21, 2003

(cont’d.)it’s your nature to make everything perfect, but see if it helps to go into this time of year next year with the understanding and acceptance that there’s no such thing as a perfect, Norman Rockwell Christmas and just try to make it pleasant and memorable for your daughter. Good luck, prayers, and best wishes. You will be OK. Tom-

December 22, 2003

The idea of a perfect Christmas is a fantasy that everyone clings to but no one ever accomplishes. There is so much stress on everyone – from the parents to provide the perfect season for their children to the kids themselves who are expected to ‘love’ each gift and be on their best behaviour constantly and perform for the relatives. I hope things improve and you have wonderful memories this year!

I’m thinking I’m going to give up on Christmas myself, something always goes wrong…