Tangibility

In a world of thunder,
I aimlessly wander toward my destiny
I long to steal one last kiss
Would I smolder in the bliss
Tainted by the pain of letting go?

I thought this all imaginary
But a false wound would not bleed
Am I just a prisoner of reality?
I can no longer call you mine
and the pain will surely subside in time.

The rain is cool against my skin
Nature’s way of weeping for me and
Glass is streaked with the tears of angels
I press myself against the wind to
remember how it feels to breathe

 And even now I can’t cleanse away your touch
Scrubbing until my skin is burning
Your words have singed my heart of steel
And on this summer morning
I feel anything but alive

Shivers race up and down my spine
A whisper of breath, a whisper of time
I lay dormant as the world awakens
Weak of will and weak of mind
My heart grows stronger even as it breaks

You’ve left me except in my dreams
As images flutter against closed eyelids
I reach out to bring you closer to me
To feel your heartbeat would be heavenly
And in God’s arms I rest in peace.

copyright amanda katherine marquardt

Log in to write a note