Sweeter Than You

Your words crawl like sickness in my brain,
sharp as a shard of glass, diving like a plane.
Starlight is crumbling
as
I
fall
away,
because
there is no longer a reason
for you to stay.

My mind is cloudy,
trapped in the stars,
while our ashes crash together like
the crunching metal of cars.
The essence of you is leaving my soul,
like fangs
pulling
from
my
flesh,
like warmth, mass exodus, from my chest.

These scars shimmer like fireworks in the dark;
the barest glimpse of my battered heart.
So as the night slithers into the lake,
my eyes stay open,
dry,
still awake.

Your blue irises stumble on the edge of dawn,
and i exhale till the hurt is gone.
Sparkles of you float away, and my heart is free,
particles of
nothing;
you mean no more than that
to me.

Struggling still, among a sweeter sin,
I can almost taste
the
sunlight
c r e e p i n g  in.

Log in to write a note
June 1, 2010

Hey that was good writing. I find writing poetry healing.

June 5, 2010

That was crazy good.