Summer’s Evening

I want art to flow through my bloodstream; magic must flood through my skin.
Indigo and sapphire and emerald and daisy yellow.
I want ruby to be sprinkled with pink and tangerine.
I want to be an instrument of nature.
To sink in, to be filled, to obtain peace for a fleeting moment,
& the air heavy with rain, thunder echoing potently in the distance.
I want wind and lightning and large lungfuls of air.

I want sore feet and a sense of accomplishment,
as I wind around trails I know too well,
as grass is dusted over with dirt,
and thoughts linger like stars on Dawn’s canvas.

A moment of silence, of peace.
To take in the surrounding world,
and think, just for a second,
that there’s nowhere else i’d rather be.

…..to walk languidly back towards the sun
perched on the sky’s edge, as twilight sets in,
flip flops in hand, hair silk against parched skin,
bare feet tickled by the pavement, gritty as a cat’s tongue.

yes.
i’m waiting for that night.

love,
amanda

Log in to write a note
May 12, 2010

This was a really beautiful entry. Title unfortunately ruined by that god-awful douche product… 😉

May 12, 2010

Brilliant change. <3