September’s Rolling Away

Sometimes you trip on the stairs in the post-noon sunshine, and people laugh at you. But as you smile and mentally kick yourself, you realize that tripping was actually a good thing: you were focused on the rest of the world instead of yourself.
Why yes, I definitely turn my embarrassing moments into life lessons that aren’t always cynical.
Today was interesting in the way that I didn’t bother doing my hair, and thus it has remained wavy and dysfunctional-looking, much to my glee. My eyeliner was smudged but it didn’t matter because I have a ring on my finger and a contented feeling inside, and no outer-appearance will outshine my inner-light. Today was interesting in the way that I elected to drink Orange Juice instead of Mountain Dew, and now a headache is idly throbbing behind my forehead, but it’s ok because my bloodstream, stomach, intestines feel healthier. I have been biting my nails all day, because winged creatures have taken up residence in my stomach, or perhaps my very soul, something I thought was saved only for rare occasions, such as in the event of a speech.
Perhaps my brain just wishes to remain fanciful and therefore, I am caught in this state of apathetic dreaminess.
Well, the sky is blue today and someone is cutting their grass – it’s enough for me.

Love,
Amanda

Log in to write a note