{Liar, Liar}

the last word
hanging in the air
claimed by no one
my eyes catch yours
you try to look guilty
but triumph shows through

lies seep from between our teeth
We’d do anything at all
to keep the ground from breaking
all is still and calm
faced with you
up against me

you’d look the other way
if you could break the gaze
it’s like staring into the sun
knowing it hurts but
dying to feel warmth

the seconds tick by
my oh my you’re trying
cut the tension with a knife
you’re afraid to spark my laughter
but it’s already bubbling up again

i’d thought this would be over by now
six months later we’re back to square one
try to fix all that’s already healed
but never really tried at all
my attempts crash to the ground

six songs later and i still cant get it right
the utter irony of dying for life
i knew all along you wouldn’t understand
i was just killing time
while you were wasting mine

it’s not a competition
oh, its a war
do not open your mouth
it’ll only kill the moment
but these moments never last
not with you.

Log in to write a note