Catching Up

I am so incredibly unstable and unsure, like a glass globe held in warm hands, at the greatest risk of being dropped. I feel so small and infinitesimal in the still of summer nights in this quiet city. My life seems like it is crashing around me, like I am crushing branches beneath my shoes because I thought they were twigs.
I feel like I am straining my mind in order to understand my own motives and my own feelings. Just when I think I have things all figured out, like I’m slipping into the "norm", I get thrown back into a state of confusion so intense I can hardly breathe. All this change is making my skin crawl. I want to settle into something, something comfortable that I don’t have to explain. Something like piano notes and violins all the time, on a bed of autumn leaves near a stream, with an ivory sweater and a warm scarf and really great shoes, and the feeling of laughter exploding like champagne bubbles. I’m not sure if that’s a lot for someone like me to ask for.
I want to glow again, like I used to. I feel like my pilot light’s out and the North star is hidden by clouds and life is whirling past me so fast that I don’t even have a second to walk on steady feet or grab at something with nervous laughter. I don’t want to feel the forced, stressful emotions of guilt and pain and confusion. I want to breathe easy and rest peacefully.
I understand that life doesn’t wait for the individual, but I don’t know if I have the confidence to catch up.

Love
Amanda.

Log in to write a note
July 19, 2010

Don’t try too hard. Sometimes, things fit together within time. Rather than catch up, be patient. Everything has its time. Forcing it is like trying to make the sun rise. If you wait, you might finally see what you want.

July 19, 2010

Live at your own pace. I’m 27 and still finding myself… Life is a journey, try to enjoy it in every moment. Now if I could take my own advice… *hug*