Ice Cream Yew Scream

The other day I posted an updated pic of myself on facebook and I got the most comments and likes I have EVER gotten on a pic of myself. (It was the AFTER pic I posted here on my before/after makeup entry)

Although I was flattered that so many people took time out of their day to post nice things about me such as how pretty I look, and how long my hair has gotten, it also bothered me a little.

It made me feel so disgusting and so self involved… But, what did I expect you know? I should have known better.

I kept wondering why I felt so bad after posting the pic and reading the nice comments, and I realized that it is because I HAVE become so self involved. So much that it takes me two hours to do my makeup and hair, and I don’t have any time to really enjoy things I want to enjoy, or do things I want to do.

In college, I was so different.
I had my hair cut short so that I could just shower, spike up my hair and go.
My daily uniform was a thrifted fitted t-shirt, jeans and either my running shoes or flip flops.
 

I worked part time, went to school full time, and I wasn’t dating anyone, nor thinking of dating anyone…
In my free time I would come home and do something like paint or draw, and if I DID go out, it was with my  good friends and cousins who could care less what I wore or what I looked like because they liked me for who I was, rather than what I looked like.

My life now is completely different from my  life back then.

I work full time, in the public, so I have to look presentable because I represent my office.
I come home, cook, clean and do laundry or whatever needs to be done.
I shower, and blow dry my hair, – which takes FOREVER because it’s so LONG…

then finally relax for about an hour then its bed time because I wake up early so I have enough time to do my hair.

I guess that’s what bothered me the most… That it’s like my hair is running my life, and not me.
We have to shower and pamper the hair. We have to blow dry the hair. We have to wake up early to do the hair…

And the hair is EVERYWHERE.

The restroom, the hallway, on the clothes, tangled in the mop, and the broom, and the vacuum cleaner.

All for what? So I keep getting compliments on how pretty and long my hair is?

FORGET THAT!
 

I chopped it all off Friday afternoon. I have an easy breazy cut now, and it’s so short there is no need for blow drying anymore.
It’s easy and quick to style…

And now I have time to do stuff like this:

 

What I do to get my creativity going is squirt a couple of different colors of paint into an old unwanted book and press the pages together. Then I leave it open and let it dry, and then I come back to it and alter it with more paint,  markers or whatever I have available.
I sit there and try to figure out what I can turn it into, how I can make it look interesting, and I usually get inspired because sometimes I put too much thought into what colors to mix, or get so anal about something I am working on that I don’t take the time to appreciate the simplicity of making art…

So GOODBYE BEAUTY QUEEN!
I want the simple life again.


 

Log in to write a note