We Cannot Be Wrong

–This is a little lyric, it has a sort of tune that entered my head as I wrote it.  Not exactly detailed poetry like I’m known to write.  But I think, considering who it’s for, making it musical makes more sense.

[Verse1]

I’ve always said that distance was a good thing,

That for each mile it meant the bond was stronger,

I’ve had some heartaches holding to this dream,

And for awhile I thought my heart would love no longer,

But I am often surprised by twists of Fate,

Like the first night when we talked for hours,

And though my heart has broken and I’ve lost much faith,

I find that something inside still remains.

[Verse 2]

I thought I’d set myself up to be broken down,

That the blows I’ve felt were too much to take,

But love like all great things comes the long way round,

I set myself up to be amazed,

I know with you I’ve made mistakes,

I don’t deserve a second chance,

I’ve been broken down and I’m so far away,

And yet you gave me one anyway….

[Chorus]

And being everything,

Is so much simpler than it’s been before,

With you It’s not an option, it’s the only thing,

Don’t know which I want more — to speak or sing,

So I stay silent and just smile and stare, 

I watch you sleep so that at least my eyes are there,

And late at night when I close my eyes,

I feel a piece of you has crossed the lines,

And I whisper as I fall asleep:

We cannot be wrong.

[Verse 3]

I have loved before but it was incomplete,

I gave everything I thought I could but it wasn’t right,

I’ve never felt these things you do to me,

You’re like loving bits of brilliant starlight,

It’s a wondrous thing to hear your laugh,

Give me that and I need nothing more,

I’ll call you up without a thing to say,

Just to have you smile and look my way…

[Chorus]

And being everything,

Is so much simpler than it’s been before,

With you It’s not an option, it’s the only thing,

Don’t know which I want more — to speak or sing,

So I stay silent and just smile and stare, 

I watch you sleep so that at least my eyes are there,

And late at night when I close my eyes,

I feel a piece of you has crossed the lines,

And I whisper as I fall asleep:

We cannot be wrong.

[Bridge]

And my heart beats stronger

When I say your name,

And every breath comes quicker,

With each passing day,

We’re getting closer,

The past is far away,

All I want to do is love you,

All I want to is say:

[Chorus]

Being everything,

Is so much simpler than it’s been before,

With you It’s not an option, it’s the only thing,

Don’t know which I want more — to speak or sing,

So I stay silent and just smile and stare, 

I watch you sleep so that at least my eyes are there,

And late at night when I close my eyes,

I feel a piece of you has crossed the lines,

And I whisper as I fall asleep:

We cannot be wrong.

[Modified Chorus]

And you are everything,

All my dreams and more…

You are the only thing,

The only one that I adore,

So when I’m silent, when I just smile and stare, 

Think of the time when I’ll be there

And late at night when you close your eyes,

Know that I part of me has crossed the lines…

And if you listen, as you fall asleep…

You’ll hear me whisper in your dreams:

We cannot be wrong.

We cannot be wrong….

We cannot be wrong…..

We’re in love.

Log in to write a note
January 28, 2007

🙂

January 30, 2007

Looks like your congratulations was a bit premature.

March 2, 2007

Ryn: Objectively, I can recognize merit in the idea. A world in which the negative aspects are unable to take hold and fester. A world in which predictibility, and that sad, sad mediocrity have all but vanished. Each moment in time is fresh, new, exhilerating..Such brief moments also make love impossible, however. Likewise, fond affections, sobering lessons, strength of -character- are reduced to inconsequence. It is an interesting thought, nonetheless.I believe the author intended a message, beyond the concrete musings of his proposed scenario. Perhaps we should not linger too long within the past; Should not judge and measure ourselves and -others,- based solely upon those bygone moments.I’ve missed your writing, by the way.