Violet

The rhyme schemes of these latest poems are simpler than the others, but I like them that way, I like these to be contrite and sincere, and that’s what I think the shortened stanzas help me do, since I compose them in my head as I watch and think about the person.

So I was out til 5:30 this morning drinking and having a blast with Carrie, Amber, Renee, Renee(there are two), Angie, Brad, Amanda, and Amy. It was a really great time that made me realize some interesting things about women and some of my fellow cast mates….;)

Anyway…the poem.

VIOLET

Luscious violet, banner of heart’s devotion,

Shroud my humble vision in cloak of ocean

Tides that assail my lover’s fantasy beaches,

Allow your loving strength to aid my reaches

Into the boundless-deep fathoms of lover’s truth,

Long lost by age, long mourned by youth,

In decadence of humble white I shall stride

Her faithful knight, her loyalty my only pride,

And silver sword all men unsheath to honor earn

Shall I cast from hand as if iron surely burned.

No desire shall drift through mind of other eyes

Nor lips or hair, no other melody shall disguise

Itself well enough to twist me to a shallow wretch,

NO! My unyielding smile and values shall fin’ly etch

Engravings into the hearts of every wayward soul,

Guide their sight towards their long forgotten goal,

Yet cursed my poetic speech doth seem to me,

For all day and night I do dream to be

Her lover, yet like every muse who has inspired,

She slips through me as though she’d not transpired

Into this ungodly world of loneliness and sorrow,

Yet I last with hope and wait for love tomorrow.

Log in to write a note

thats really good 🙂

there ýs always hope ýn tomorrow….

Hope everything is going well with you Brad. It was cool to see ya. Take care, Joe

hm..i liked it;) simplicity is sometimes better..i’m checkin legends for private entries..i intended to type my new one up but got inspired for midnight up to the point where im confused lol…well it’s almost 12:15 and i should be in bed but i know i wouldnt sleep..insomnia i think..dunoo….oh well theres always anthropology and my two hours between english and econ:)~Amanda