Unfinished business

The hectic week is rolling around. The opening of ‘Shakespeare,’ the auditions for ‘Cabaret,’ the beginning of school, the beginning of my term as Masquers president, the beginning of my work on putting on my own play as well as a fundraiser one-act and a dessert theatre one-act. Soooo much happening all at once.

I was going to send a script for the next year’s Project Greenlight…but they pick a separate director from that of the writer and I want to do both with all my work because I tend to write vaguely and cryptically as to make sure that only I see the full product. I don’t want to be ripped off after-all.

I finished my absurdist musical which is three acts long and some 24 songs heavy….and it turned out to be more a drama than a comedy, which is all right. I have stepped away from my screenplay and moved to a different one because I believe the one that I now intend to write may be the big opening step that will push me through the doors of Hollywood, where I hope to go next summer.

I’m in my apartment, everything is swell, everyone is coming back so soon we’ll be having our first theatre party, probably sometime the second week of classes…yay for all that.

Onto the rest of my thoughts. I want to start another writing circle, a different one since nobody will be willing to invest the long-term time in the one that we already had begun and too often we lose people. I think I might narrow this one down to three or four writers and I’m pretty sure I know the style of it. It will be bizarre, but I think compelling in the end. As for this diary right here, I’ve still got to finish Tyre’Negoth and Crime Story, both of which I have so much already written and planned but I’m not sure which to finish first….or whether I should continue with the Cathartic Sonnets…..

We’ve come to the awkward years for the sonnets as we reach my senior year and the fact that many of the people who read this diary might be mentioned….something I am dreading. I know what happens when I open my mouth to people…they distance themselves because they get weirded out. So should I continue or not?

Also, this is a guilt trip to everyone I have ever known and who reads this diary. “The Complete Works of William Shakespeare[Abridged]” plays Friday and Saturday Sept 5, 6, 12, and 13…..you MUST come to one of these shows. I demand it. I know a lot of people already are, but I really would appreciate it. This and ‘Cabaret’ I believe might be the most important acting works I’ve ever done for my own personal career and I really would enjoy the support.

Note me about everything I’ve talked about, I’d like to know your opinions on all these things. Adieu for now.

Log in to write a note

i like your diary. it’s really insightful and worth reading.

Hey, I think I’m going to try out for Cabaret. . . hope to see you there. (And I will definitely be going to Shakespeare!) See ya around! Nikki Taft

Most recent Project Greenlight script is “Battle Of Shaker Heights” – sucks, apparently. ‘Course, they don’t have Brad writing for them. *grins* Anyway, on the drive home (happy labor day, by the by), I was ruminating about the loss of legends (shame, that) , but I came upon a terrific idea for a novel/writing circle project.. Galactika.

yes, Galactika – the story of a bumbling-yet-lovable private detective, sent through the galaxy on what might be The Biggest Case Ever – The capture and return of a notorious space-pirate crew, responsible for the most lucrative bank job in the history of the universe, and some of the nastiest sentient-rights violations known to thinking-kind.

Our hero finds himself allied with a band of lovable scumbags – a group of ex-pirates and pirate-hunters, aboard a clanky little bucket of bolts, and with their help, he tracks down the space pirates. Humorous. Stylistically combining Science Fiction, Film noir, Epic Adventure, Action-comedy and a little bit of drama.

You find the right sort of people to do this, and I’ll be automatically in. Make it a small group, though. maybe the surviving originals, but not many more. Also, it’d be really handy if I could get your AIM/MSN screenname. -david erm.. What i’ve left out is whether or not the story idea holds up to your scrutiny. tell me if it doesn’t. feel free to take some liberties wit

..h the story. -dahv (AIM Draconkang, MSN Gryphonfyre@hotmail.com)

Sorry I didn’t get a chance to say hi today, I was already late for a job interview! I don’t think I’m going to make that meeting tonight (I have a mandatory wing meeting) But I’ll try, I might be late, but I guess that’s better than never! Well, see ya around Nik

I’d come but yeah..i’m on ohio lol. good luck w/ all your projects:) ryn: thanks. it’s good to have someone believe in me:) though actually, since i have the stairs going down to the dark, dan’s idea, once he explained it more nicely to me, seems better because I can have the door closed and opened a little and the poem on top of that, and then at the end of the book have the door opened and show

the stairs going up and the light at the top of the stairs. (if that made sense.) anyone, speaking of my book..i need to get a couple pages started before my art class..but i’m gonna read a couple of your entries first.

The auditions are either or? If so, that’s great cuz I have sooo much stuff I’m supposed to do on thursday nite! *sighs in relief* I will be there on Wednesday, and I will try my best to make it on Tues, (is it ok if I’m late? i have an appt in menomonie @ 1:30, not sure when I’ll be back) Hope to see you! Luv nik

sorry it sounds like angie isn’t going to make it to your play 🙁 sorry! nik