Treaty (Light Up This Room)

I lay here swallowed up in sound,

Piano chords and strings the score to my drowning,

All I want is to be still and quiet,

Barely lit in blue and white light,

It runs along the edge of my fingers,

Along my wrists and my hands tightening into fists, and there it lingers…

It makes everything seem so clear,

It makes me seem like all of me is not quite here.

Chorus ~~ I was born alone into a heart only I have known,

I’ve pulled the blinds and locked the doors,

It’s been hammered hard by storms, weathered by the wind and time,

I feel the chill of the cold seeping through the cracks and gaps,

I’m laying here in the dark waiting for you to come and lay beside me.

Fix your eyes in mine, hold my hand, and we’ll light up this room.~~

When I close my eyes I see our world at war,

When I open them I find I never fell asleep before,

We’re breaking everything in ourselves and others like we’re made of glass,

We steal each other’s breath and dreams, then we walk on past,

Everything in us is now just a web of scars,

We look in broken mirrors and don’t know who we are,

The songs on loop and the sad woman’s lips breathe out and begin,

I lay in this light and I listen to her sing,

Chorus ~~ I was born alone into a heart only I have known,

I’ve pulled the blinds and locked the doors,

It’s been hammered hard by storms, weathered by the wind and time,

I feel the chill of the cold seeping through the cracks and gaps,

I’m laying here in the dark waiting for you to come and lay beside me.

Fix your eyes in mine, hold my hand, and we’ll light up this room.~~

And its the fragility, the instability that we are afraid of,

So we hide away,

We’re terrified of what it means to be a part of humanity,

So we hide away,

Everybody’s crying and aching inside and we can’t kiss them all,

So we hide away,

And we know just to get by we’re going to break somebody’s heart,

So we hide away.

We hide away.

Chorus ~~ I was born alone into a heart only I have known,

I’ve pulled the blinds and locked the doors,

It’s been hammered hard by storms, weathered by the wind and time,

I feel the chill of the cold seeping through the cracks and gaps,

I’m laying here in the dark waiting for you to come and lay beside me.

Fix your eyes in mine, hold my hand, and we’ll light up this room.~~

I don’t want to fix you, I’ve come to believe in your beauty as you are,

It’s how I saw you, your jagged edges catching light from afar,

I’ll hold you with soft hands, I won’t judge you, I’ll lay and listen,

I’ll let your words settle like tears on my skin,

We’ll lay barely lit in blue and white light

We’ll see each other through the night,

And we will find in the dark all the words we lost when we took aim,

And we’ll bring them together til they spark and light aflame,

And we will hold our hands together and hold them up to light the way.

Chorus~~ I was born alone into a heart only I have known,

I’ve pulled the blinds and locked the doors,

It’s been hammered hard by storms, weathered by the wind and time,

I feel the chill of the cold seeping through the cracks and gaps,

I’m laying here in the dark waiting for you to come and lay beside me.

Fix your eyes in mine, hold my hand, and we’ll light up this room…

We’ll light up this room….

We’ll light up this room….

Log in to write a note

You make me wonder if a cigar is simply a cigar.

June 11, 2007

Extrememly persuasive rhythm. <3

-m.