To Love

This is for Stormie.  I’m sorry I haven’t called you lately, and I’m sure you’d say it’s because I’m so busy….and I am.  But that’s no excuse.  There has been time enough for a phone call.  I don’t know why I don’t.  I suppose I’ve been spending all my free time with Kate…well, almost all of it.  But I promise I’ll call you soon.  I don’t know where that leaves me as a person….whether I’m the guy who eventually remembers his duties and friends….anyway…enough over-explanation. 

Just a short poem I decided to write:

To love upon a pedestal,

Placed soft with hands of soul,

High away from the base

Where thing grow old.  They fall apart

Like porcelain, pieces, fragments, shards,

But not on high.  Not love upon it’s pillow.

To love whose first kiss is everlasting,

A taste that stays through thousands,

Never dwindling, distilling, diluting,

Remaining and aging like wine.

To love whose memories of first days

Are the same as memories of now and future,

Fresh, exciting, a spark…but less unsure,

More strong, more faithful, more mindful…

More thankful.

To love whose face is indistinct,

Whose form has no size to deny perfection,

Whose eyes are any, every color,

Whose lips taste like universal sweetness.

To a fragile love, that never breaks,

Because it is cared for purposely…consciously…

Because it is known as a real love that

Can only flourish with hands of soul.

To love upon a pedestal.

To love that hammer blows from the base

Do not shake it — and never do the carer’s try

To shake it.  The carer’s know….

They know better.  They know that love is thinking.

That the heart is a hammer that beats out time,

That strikes against soul, that strikes against thought,

That they are warring around the base.

And love upon a pedestal is held up by hands of soul,

Placed on pillows of  thought and consciousness…

While hearts grow old.

To hearts: wither, wane, go away.  Leave love alone.

To soul: hold tighter, try harder, touch with haunting caresses

The scars, the sores, the wounds, the nerves that knot.

To thought: remember, remind, relive thankfulness.

To love: what can one say?

To love upon a pedestal,

To words that do not alter worlds,

But simply make a moment nicer….softer…caressed

Like light touches from hands of soul.

High away from the base where things grow old.

Log in to write a note
April 17, 2005

You seem to forget that I could have & should have called you myself, so don’t go beating yourself up.And yes,I assumed you were busy with Kate,school,& so forth so I didn’t think badly of you.I felt bad because I have many times almost called & then didn’t for one reason or another…not wanting to bug you,not wanting to bug you, not wanting to talk about myself..ha,so don’t worry, I still love

April 17, 2005

you.I would rather you didn’t call me than call me instead of doing homework or being with Kate or doing the million other things you’re talented self is involved with.It’s ok, really.You’re in my thoughts and my heart always so don’t worry about losing your spot.And to repeat, I could have called you too.

April 17, 2005

exquisite poem

April 17, 2005

Aim isn’t working…damnit…i just wanted to chat with you

poems written for someone are always a good companion to an apology. glad to see you’re posting again. be well.

May 12, 2005

that was nice… very long but nice 🙂

May 13, 2005

I don’t know if you tried to chat with me but AIM won’t work for me at all. Every time I try to chat with you or you with me it shuts down. I’m sorry. I really would like to talk to you. I don’t know what’s wrong with it.

I love you.