Shanghai Knights

Well I’m sure you readers have long lamented, waiting for the review of a movie or two….well, because my mind is half numb and I have nothing else to do, I thought I’d review a couple movies along with rant about the Student Voice’s film critic.

Firstly: The Recruit

I may have talked about this movie a bit already, but here’s my full review of it. First of all, the movie is not so much a thriller as I would have hoped. We are never whipped into the intense frenzy that keeps our hearts pacing like so many other good thrillers…

The written script, however, was incredibly well-crafted. Rather than being the so often one-sided straight and narrow, there are many ambiguities left to the audience interpret. (Who is Colin Farrel’s father?) The romantic plot, which I shall admit is rather quick-paced, can of course be accepted by the time the full movie is over. Much of what seems cliche and stupid and rushed in the movie, making it seem fake is understandably explained by the end. The fact that Farrel and Layla fall for each other so quickly and everything goes the way it does becomes clear by the end. Al Pacino is getting old, and though this performance is stellar but nothing original, we can already see the age getting to his voice.(and his neck) Overall, I would say this movie is worth seeing once in the theatre. About a 3.5 out of 5.

Shanghai Knights is the other movie that I’d like to review. I just went and saw it and I have to say I was very impressed. If there is one thing that can be said about Jackie Chan’s work is that he continually sets the bar higher and higher for his stunt work and visually the entire thing is breathtaking. Forbidding villain costumes, great fight scenes ranging from the intense hand-to-hand, sword fighting, and the sheer ingenuity of how Jackie Chan uses the scenery and props is fantastic. Owen Wilson is once more his hilarious sedated, peace-loving self and Fann Wong, who plays Chan’s sister is about the hottest karate fighter I have ever seen…..(oh if she would only lick me…inside j/k.) The villain, played by Adain something, who looks like an almost carbon copy of Ed Burns, is damn good as well. There are many recurring j/k’s from the original and if there is one beef that I have with both this movie and Rush Hour 2 is that it does not deviate at all from the original storyline. Hell, the final scene of Knights takes place in a clock tower much like the bell tower scene from the first one. There is a bathing scene with Chan and Owen Wilson has another one of his erotic dreams. Nevertheless, I would say that this movie should be seen at least once and I would see it again it is just so visually spectacular and hilarious!!

I give it a 5 of 5 for those looking for entertainment, fun, and Chan kicking ass. For those looking for innovation and an overall brilliance to the movie, I”d give it a 4 of 5.

Finally, a little beef with our current movie critic. HE SUCKS! He HATES every movie and doesn’t even examine the plot and the storyline or the theme!! He just makes cliche insults and mocks every movie as being too low brow while just being a player hater….bleh.

Log in to write a note

Hello…I can’t wait to see Shanghai Knights

Shanghai Knights sounds like it might be good. I think we were going to see it today. Seems like a lot of critics are usually totally off when the review a movie. I agree with most of your reviews though. Talk to you later Brad