One More Fix

This is another song from the musical I’m writing. I find it will be more rewarding to get opinions from people not to mention it also helps me to write it on here away from all the words and blocking so that I can see what I’m writing more in poetry form. The tune that goes with it I would rather pound out after the words…words are far more important……they hold the deep meaning that the music supports.

ONE MORE FIX –Adria, Charlie, and Edward

ADRIA:

You may think I’m a junkie….

Some two-bit worthless flunkie…

Dancing around

Like some clown

Or drugged-up circus monkey…..

But you don’t know me,

I can quit any time, you see,

Yet I see no reason,

To fight my demons,

Without a bit of ecstacy…

Just one more fix,

Is all it would take,

Not three, or five, maybe six,

Then I’ll go on and break

This habit if you so please,

Just to prove it ain’t no disease,

Just my choice and my right….

Yes I could quit this very night….

But that plans on the nix,

Til I get me just one more fix….

There are eight thousand or so,

Fools, boobs, and schmoes,

Twice as pathetic as the mass…

(Ed)Why be pathetic at all I ask?

(Adria) Look at yourself, do you even know?

You see, this town ain’t so hot,

And some like boredom, but I’m not

One of those yawn-loving pills,

I like the fast-life that kills,

I live my life and they can rot.

Just one more fix,

Is all it would take,

Not three, or five, maybe six,

Then I’ll go and break

This habit if you so please

Just to prove it ain’t no disease,

Just my choice and my right….

Yes I could quit this very night…

But that plans on the nix

Til I get me one more fix.

(Ed) The fact of the matter….

Is in giving you the latter…..

I may be damning you to eternity….

Here in this sinful, awful city…..

And it’s already took its toll on you,

You don’t see what’s real or true….

All you see is what you desire….

I’m only trying to save you from the fire….

(Adria) Well pops, thanks a ton,

I’ll remember you when I’m done,

But my life’s mine not yours,

And you yourself haven’t settled any scores,

So stick to focusing on you,

And I’ll stick to what I do….

But if you really want me to call it quits….

Just give me, oh just give me one more fix….

(Ed) NO!

(Adria) YES!

(Charlie) You can’t do it!

(Adria) Let’s put it to the test!!!

(Charlie and Ed Simultaneously sing against Adria’s chorus)

(C + E): Can’t you see the pain,

You bring upon your soul?

Can’t you see its plain?

That one more fix will take its toll?

All you’ve got to do is think it through,

Don’t give into this devil’s dance….

We know we don’t know all of you…..

But we want the chance…..

(Adria): SILENCE!

Sometimes……I don’t know…..

Sometimes……I want to let go……

But this place has worn on me…..

So if one more fix will set me free…..

I got to take it, it frees my mind,

I can’t feel the pain that burns inside….

So you may sit on your high horse and preach,

But that high horse for me is out of reach….

So I don’t listen to your tricks….

All I need…….

All I want…….

For my life

And for my heart….

To take the pain

In all its parts…

Away…..

All I want is to call this life quits….

And get me one more fix!

I know it’s hard to here without a tune…but try….thanks!

Log in to write a note

This sounds like a very interesting song. You really get inside her head and understand where she is coming from. RYN: I originally was cast as Mary, but they changed stuff and now I’m Becky. (She’s the one I read for.)

RYN: i prefer guys with dark hair it really brings out there eyes an this guy is kindda sudden and he is younger than me soo i dunno maybe i will maybe i wont it depends on how he takes this chance. this song: it is really nice i feel it cause it reminds me of a girl i know so. keep it coming you are a good writer

I’m not sure if I’m on the same page as you but I thought it was a little funny, not like laugh out loud funny, just comical in a sort. But I can see the other side and it makes me wonder, what’s my fix and how many more will I need? What’s your fix? 🙂

wow… ý’m amazed by your talent… ýs thýs a musýcal cos ý can almost hear the words ýn my mýnd, beýng sang… see ya soon

Cool Very Cool… Hey are you going on the Wisconsin in Scotland Program?? I know River Falls goes, and your theatre or one of the theatre profs is going, are you by chance? I am and so chould you…two Chetek kids take on Europe

The musical sounds great so far! Good luck with it, not that you need any. 🙂 Will I get to read all of it? ~Nancy

That was great! I’m going to be walking along one day when I see an ad for your musical, just watch! ~*Betsy*~