Music Made Up My Mind

So, I’m just going to write this little lyrical thingy-mabob. Last night I listened to Coldplay’s “A Rush of Blood to the Head” and it made me feel great. Really really great. I’m king of the world. I called Claire, who I haven’t talked to in ages and we talked for an hour and a half last night too. It was wonderful. I’m feeling rather good right now about everything. Mood swing city I suppose.

Last night I talked to Claire and she too agreed with the statement I hear a lot that I seem to be a complicated person. I suppose one might think that I guess. I bounce all over with emotions and opinions though I have yet to hear a really solid answer about what it is about me that makes people think I’m so complex. I always thought I was simple, or at least when it comes right down to what I want from life I’m simple. What are your opinions?

Anyway, I feel great right now. Not because anything wonderful has really happened to me, but I just feel strong at the moment. I feel like I should just throw away all the crap, which is kind of what “Renewed” was about. I’m adopting Claire’s attitude, which is for the most part wonderful. I think she has a few issues under her surface that she needs to deal with more openly, but that’s another story.

Now, and remember that this requires work to do because I have to enter all the god damn *P*’s for all the paragraph breaks…another poem to a tune that you once more can’t hear. Funnily, I don’t think I could sing the tune that goes to this one either, but I can hear it in my head perfectly. This poem is basically a tribute to music itself.

Music,

The melody,

Ringing out my ragtime reverie,

I do not know what I do owe

You, so glad I got to know you

And music,

The harmony,

Haunting and surrounding me,

Internal rhyme and rhythm, it is

Something that it relies on nothing…

And music,

The rhythmic score,

Rapping down my double doors

And piercing through to what I call

My heart which doesn’t know yet how to cry.

And music has made up my mind,

No matter where I might go I will find

I’m sure that comforting score

That knells and rolls

In bells and whistles

That fly like missiles

Across white pages like stories told.

Music,

The chorus parts,

That rise in chords and echo our

Dreams like oracles of

Old and ring again and never fold.

And music,

Made with soft guitars,

Rising up through the din of bars

Drinks can’t hide our sins denied

Yet those plucked out notes do it best.

And music has made up my mind,

I thought I was down but now I find

That I’m up again

Thank you, my friend,

Can’t hear all the hate,

When I pump up the bass

And let it beat out all my pain.

And hear me come to the edge,

No chorus here

No verse decried,

Just me and the music once again,

All of my troubles,

Tremble and tumble, then

Distance in a double take….

And music,

The lyricals,

Words that warp around the chords,

Rhyming and bouncing with joy or with sorrow

Can’t stop it now as I do chant…

And music has made up my mind,

Warm all around me though it snows outside

Though there are rainclouds

I stay dry,

Oh let me cry,

That we all believe

In things to relieve our pain….

Yes music has made up my mind….

Though I have been wronged I turn blind

Eyes to these aches,

We all make mistakes…

Though we do the wrong thing,

We learn in the end,

Then we turn right around and repeat once again….

For that is life….

For that is love….

For that is everything….

Crescendoes and melodies….

Sorrows and reveries….

Music is there for me….

Music,

The melody,

Ringing out my ragtime reverie…

I do not know what I do owe

You, but I’m so glad I got to know you, friend.

Log in to write a note

Hi. I like your diary. It’s very unique. Please take a gander at mine. 🙂

December 29, 2003

Very good. I like that very much. And I am from the Central parts of Illinois in the Champaign area.

December 30, 2003

Wow, Brad! You met Gwen! What a crazy twist of fate! But yeah. I’m not REALLY leaving opendiary. Fear not. And I’ll get on those Legends entries soon, I promise! -David

Thanks for the note! I appreciate it, really! Though you will occasionally find rants in my OD, I don’t like to dwell on the bad stuff. And I love your music song… it captured music well… especially the things like turning up the bass to beat out the pain… I liked it very much, yes. *G