Minority Report

Well, yesterday I went to see the much hyped Minority Report and found that it was a very good movie, but nothing super spectacular.

As always, Steven Spielberg has created a very polished film with some really awesome special effects and the futuristic layout of the entire movie is excellent. It reminds me a lot of A.I. actually, although this has a more grainy texture to the entire film.

Tom Cruise was awesome in the film, playing his role to perfection and Colin Ferell was also really good in his role, he can really give a good “Oh, shit.” look….when you see the film you’ll see what I mean.

The movie’s coolest feature is the way they view the crime and how they try to stop it, an awesome and unique invention and the driving force of the plot, however….it is extremely unbelievable, although it’s usually the most insane ideas that end up being the best successes. Though frankly, I definitely put this system of law enforcement under “Ain’t never gonna happen.”

My favorite factor was the fact that unlike Vanilla Sky, which I enjoyed immensely up until they revealed a ludicrously impossible end, you can actually figure out what happened in this one. You can solve the entire mystery and everything and though it takes some time to figure out the ins and outs, this one actually gives you a chance, something Vanilla Sky I don’t think did. I solved Minority Report….*beams with pride*

Anyhoo…..another point is that while watching the movie I was trying to think of how this system was fallible, and to my enjoyment, the solution I arrived at is the same one that the movie does.

Another kick-ass part is when Tom gets the pulse rifle and wails on a few guys, that’s really cool. Overall, on a ranking from 1 to 5 with 5 being the best, I give it a 4.25

It loses marks on the fact that it really doesn’t drive you to a frenzy of excitment, it’s a rather laid back movie throughout much of it. Secondly, it’s plot is a little hard to swallow, and the movie goes on a little too long, adding a couple scenes which could easily have been skipped without damaging the story.

That’s Brad’s review for Minority Report…..I’m gonna go see Bourne Identity and I guess I might just start a review segment.

Log in to write a note

I’ve heard of Bourne Identýty but Mýnorýty Report ýs not ýn theaters here yet!!! So you say ýt’s worth seeýng??? I love goýng to the movýes!!!! see ya soon

June 22, 2002

The Bourne Identity is good. I loved it. My friend said Minority Report was good, too, so I may see it.