Heaven’s Hand

When the war in my heart finally ends,

I’m afraid of which side might win,

For every single thought I have sways the battle,

Each day the tide turning back and forth,

Washing me away from the land I love,

Drowning me, pushing me under,

Dragging me down into the murky depths,

Where light never reaches and creatures roam

That humanity’s never seen,

There I shall lie, within that mysterious menagerie.

Oh heaven’s hand,

Reach down and find my heart,

Left somewhere along this pitiless road,

Anchored in cruelty and sorrow and sinking fast,

I’m afraid that if it isn’t found soon it might not last,

And forever it shall fade away.

All I ever do anymore is fear,

Each parting breath makes me so much colder,

Death keeps getting so much closer,

And all I want to do is live a little longer.

But time chooses your destiny for you,

And all you can do is try to fly among the clouds,

Sail upon the wind into heaven’s door,

But it’s never as easy as you hope or dream,

It’s always harder than it seems.

Oh heaven’s hand,

Reach down and find my heart,

Left somewhere along this pitiless road,

Anchored in cruelty and sorrow and sinking fast,

I’m afraid that if it isn’t found soon it might not last,

And forever it shall fade away.

Sometimes I wish that I could just cry,

But here is not the place to do it,

There must be a place where life’s so much better,

Just wish I knew how to get there,

Instead I sit and rot and fear and die,

What a sad way to live such a wonderful life,

But for all this pain and sorrow that tears through my soul,

I still find beauty in every second, in every tree, everything.

How I do this I don’t know, it just seems to be my way.

And time moves on,

And time stands still,

When good things come my way,

And when bad things break me down,

And I fight on,

And I fight still,

For giving in is all I know not how to do,

And I don’t really want to learn.

Oh heaven’s hand,

Reach out and take hold of me,

Pull me out of this dark and dismal sea,

Take my beating heart and give it back,

I’m afraid if I’m not found I’ll never last,

And soon I’ll fade away.

Oh heaven’s hand,

Breathe a breath of life back into my lungs,

So I can sing the songs that I used to sing,

So I can stand on my own two feet and know

That my life’s worth living, that it will last,

Or leave me here to forever fade away.

Log in to write a note

I like this image of heaven’s hand.

I love the way you write and how you get better with time. I would love to talk to you again so call if you ever feel the need. Your loving Friend Jen

Your writing, as always, is amazing. RYN: I can just see myself with a ruler down my pants..lol..good grief. You made me laugh and made my day. Thanks Brad, I needed that. I hope everything is going well for you. 🙂

hey glad 2 see ur writing again. keep us updated on college life.

i really like this one…. great job…

u write so well..hugs..