Five Fathers Fighting From the Pulpit

 1: The sun does rise on me…

 Its warmth is mine

 Its warmth is ours

 Clouds may come and go

 But I do know the sun remains.

 It will see me through again.

 And ghosts of me in the past

 Who’ve all but died and gone from me

 Are hidden in my memory

 Waiting for the sun

 

 2: Hold out your hand

 Palm down to the dirt

 So that when they reach for you 

 They’ve got no way to miss

 Don’t look away

 Don’t hesitate

 Hold out your hand

 We have so many down

 We have to pick them up

 No mess that we can see

 Is not ours to clean.

 Hold out your hand

 And reach for me.

 

 3: When I look out the window

 What I see is clouds

 Ghosts, wind, memories…

Sometimes the leaves are still

 Sometimes the leaves are rattling

 And each time I look away

 I forget what once was there

 Until I look again.

 Everywhere I look I forget

 Until I look again.

 Beauty is so quickly forgot

 It is a travesty. I know the greatness

 Of the heart well enough

 To know that beauty passes through

 Like blood and should stay, but

 Roams til drawn too thin it’s gone

 How do we forget

 And how do we remember?

 

 4: Nobody, nobody knows anymore.

 About things like love.

 No, nobody does, no nobody does.

 I’m no old-time man

 Rocking away my regretful years

 Not yet. But I’m a man of mistakes

 And I’m struggling to make them better

 Be somebody just as good as most

 Think I am from their birds-eye view.

 But nobody knows, but me.

 And sad enough is that I’m fighting my soul

 To beat the fear that breaks me

 Down and holds me back

 Cuz its not about these things like having it

 But really wanting it

 And not the thing but the being.

 

 5: What do we believe in?

 Do we believe that we are right?

 Do we believe that life is right?

 Do we believe that nothing stays true?

 Can we? Can I? Can You? 

 I believe in nothing more than this:

 That what we believe

 Is right. For you its this

 And him, well, it’s that.

 And one may scream and scorn

 Another tongue’s articulated thoughts

 And fists rise and fall in rage

 But we all are right. Not us but all.

 Belief is singular and there is no right

 More than us.

 Somewhere upon a dirty hill, some loving

 Man may see the sun and forget it

 But he will be fine.

 He’ll move on.

 We all must believe and get along.

 Hope remains despite all the ugly

 Things that compel us to despair.

 But we are Here and There

 We are still everywhere

 And life will remain triumphant

 For we can still believe

 In what, who cares?

 We have the right

 We have the hope

 So let us let the light out.

Log in to write a note