Come Down

When did life become so jaded?

I cannot see the signs,

All the colors seem so faded,

No more distinction, no fine lines.

And perhaps this is for the best,

Less definition to make us unique,

More common, no distinction from the rest,

But somehow things seem more bleak.

I think I remember losing my sight,

Waltzing with you amongst the flowers

I gave in to foolish fancies that night,

Let down my guard to be yours all those hours,

And in the end I got what I guessed,

Used up then tossed, sighing, aside,

For things I let you do that I denied the rest,

Were all the things I feared inside.

I wanted to be a user,

Like everyone else wants to be,

And in my fall I finally saw,

Things that every man needs to see,

So lying here amongst the shards,

I’m crying out, I’m begging thee

To take a chance and leave the edge,

And join the ranks that lie with me.

Come down,

Please, baby,

Come down,

You cannot see,

All the things left compromised,

All the hate and all the lies,

Promised in the name of lust,

The sin embraced by disgarding trust,

And you all think you’re in the clouds,

Cuz to fool you all hell’s set higher,

Deceptive hell has turned you round,

So looking down you think you’re all the brighter,

And the burn you feel you think’s the sun,

But if you realize my words are true,

It’s not the end, redemption’s time has come,

So come down from hell so I may be with you.

Come down,

Please, baby,

Come down,

You cannot see,

All the things that love can offer you,

So much more than what you think you’ve got,

Cuz more isn’t better when one will do,

For all the things you think you are you’re not.

And breathe with me,

And let me hold you close,

And need with me,

And I won’t ever let you go,

And you think you’ll miss the mark,

But I won’t let you go,

And you fear the lonely dark,

But it won’t take hold.

So come down,

Please, baby,

Come down,

You cannot see,

All the things that a person means,

When they abandon the meaningless things,

I know you think we’re only teens,

But age is no reason to go confining

So come down,

Please, baby,

Come down…..

Come down…..

Log in to write a note
July 1, 2002

hey whats up?

*hugs* that’s sad but very good.

OMG!!!!!! that was a great poem and I jsut realýzed how much I mýssed to read one of your poems… you are an amazýng wrýter and a poet!!!! love ya

that was a really realy really good poem. your very very talented!! you captured the emotion of your theme very well! when I finished reading that a tear ran my cheeck because it was so beautiful. nicole