Burnt

I think I named an entry this but I couldn’t find it.

Burnt

Tis not your eyes that enraptures me,

Nor your face of honeydew silk,

Though poets may comprise sonnets about these things,

For heaven knows romantics like I could without toil,

But instead there is something deeper than sight.

When my eyes befall your graceful sight,

I know I love you not for this token thing,

Rather I love thee because there is a light,

A light which swallows all the light of the world,

And illuminates nothing but the soul you possess.

If I could resist the divine passion this light instills,

I’d be aghast and terrified by this impossible magic

Which no human eye was ever meant to see.

Yet I have seen it, and still crave more, hunger unending

My eyes driving my hunger on, other light but a tease.

It is unfair to demand so much of me,

To see you in your dazzling radiant aura walking by,

To not cry out to you, to rush forth and grab you

In a passionate rain of kisses that shatter your stoicism

And tear away your armor so that I may love you.

Let me crawl beneath your skin and into your mind,

The way you do when I fall into my troubled sleep,

So that you can hear all the sweet nothings plaguing me.

So that you’ll know what your sight means to me.

And knows that whatever comes my way, you’ll be in my eyes.

Log in to write a note

wow…that was really beautiful

I do so love everything you write. You could make any hopeless romantic’s heart go pitty-pat. Sweet. Very beautiful, I love it. Take care,

yeah i think there was another burnt but tis okay..i have three called the goddess..i just made em kinda sequential..lol