Baby

Nothing so bright, nothing so smooth,

nothing so pure

As my baby

All of my life days into night,

All I did dream Was my baby

Until the days darkness entwined

with silver eyes

Was my baby staring at me

And since then I can’t see straight

And since then my smile’s been fake

Funny I know the troubles I’ve seen

But through one eye only that’s clean

If you bring along your needles

Then I’ll bring my sharpened pencils

And draw one more comic tragedy

My baby

So call up the child players

From madam we’ll rent the parlor

And dance to death

till I can’t see

My baby

2:31 AM and I’m sitting up after playing Cranium, drinking but a little, and having fun with a large number of people from the cast of ‘State Fair.’

My birthday is two days past and I’ll tell you that it was wonderful. Absolutely delightful. And the day after when my parents came was good, too.

Picture call was on my birthday and Claire, my fancy for those who don’t know, baked cupcakes for the whole cast and her mother baked mine. It was a wonderful thing. And touching, too. Jen got me a card and the cast got me a card and Willa, one of the little girls, went and picked flowers for me and another little girl, Brooke, made me a card. Brittany sang to me in Spanish, Anne sang to me in French, and the cast sang to me as well as the group who went to Steve’s Pizza the night before as midnight rolled by.

I’ve never been a big man for being fussed over. Oh I like respect and compliments, but to have someone go out of their way to make me happy has never been a big item on my list. In fact, I feel greedy asking for the affection of Claire, who has a boyfriend and who is a wonderful wonderful girl….incredible really.

When I look at her I smile in a way that I can’t help. If she doesn’t know I’m in love with her than she is blind, because everyone else who sees me has to know. I can’t stop smiling….I can’t stop glowing…I feel as if I’m radiating light when I smile looking at her. And you know…..I don’t think I’ve felt so wonderful.

My little brother went off and found a rare game that I really wanted which isn’t on store shelves anymore because it didn’t sell and we missed the chance to buy it when it was…..but he found it. That was really awesome.

I got good gifts….but I’m sorry, the best gifts were from the cast…..my family feels obligated and its tradition…but these people went out of their way to make me really happy. And they did.

The greatest point of it all happened during photo call, when I ended up surrounded by the little girls in the show, all paying me attention as I listened to them tell me about their various lives. It makes me think about having little girls someday, and I want that day soon actually….it’s an odd realization for me, since I have always been so focused on being an actor and writer.

Anyway, I’m really tired and that song up above is by Rufus Wainwright and I thought it fit. Claire came over and played Cranium with us and we might see American Wedding tomorrow…I already saw it, but shhh.

Here are a few movie reviews:

AMERICAN WEDDING: 4 of 5. I really liked this one, and it had a lot of genuinely good moments and unique humor. Of course, Sean William Scott made this movie. It was almost a complete movie about Stiffler in the end.

28 DAYS LATER: Interesting cinematography. Not scary. They warn you when the zombies come and it’s really just more gross and disgusting because I find it hard to believe that the entire world could get infected by such creatures. The government is far too smart, especially when the disease is in no way airborne. The characters, for the most part, were fatally flawed. The main character is a bit of an idiot, but had good morals, and whatever the black woman’s name was, she was smart but had no point to her life at all.

Actually, that’s all I got really. Haven’t gone to see many movie recently. Sooo tired….good night all.

Log in to write a note