Azurene

It’s a fictitious word, don’t bother looking it up to see what it means.

I watch you,

Shadows wrapped around me in my corner,

Sipping slowly from the life I lead,

Tasting sweet and sour memories,

The bitterest poisons seeping in my skin,

Yet never do they take their hold,

For I am watching you,

Watching with unyielding, timeless eyes,

That never break from your form,

That see through the walls you hide behind,

That blur the world to make you clearer.

I’ve never tasted bitter fruit save your loss,

And never shall I taste a fruit so bitter,

Exquisite eyes with dancing sparkles,

Like fireworks waltzing with the stars at night,

Like fireflies mating in millions and millions,

The universe caged within two orbs that you possess,

They are everything beautiful.

Your walk perfect, flowing and graceful,

Like water flowing across the ocean on a windless day,

Like the leafs that spiral in a sudden gust,

But these are nothings compared to your walk,

Perfection is all that flows into my mind to describe it,

I am speechless, and I am glad.

For my voice is nothing when hearing yours,

Sweeter then homemade sugar sticking on my tongue,

More smooth and soothing then silk all around me,

One taste is all man needs to fall forever,

Begging and clawing for just another droplet more,

Swearing it will be the last, but never breaking the hunger,

For every drop just feeds the yearning for the next.

Skin so soft, I know though never felt,

I can feel it within my heart and mind pulsing,

Satin rose petals envy you without respite,

No beauty has ever touched upon your skin,

It’s divine in all the world and time.

Your figure absolutely faultless,

Every single sweep of your maker’s brush, genius,

No masterpiece shall walk this earth like you,

Nor surpass your beauty, grace, and draw,

I cling to hope as if it shall bring your mind to mine.

Lost in all this madness of the world I wish we’d be together,

Forgetting all the others who shall see what I see,

Wandering their handsome ways into the light,

While I forever wait in illuminated shadow,

Saw once, spurned, and forgotten forever,

Regret is what should assail my soul,

Envy, anger, and sorrow should be my companions,

The bedfellows of an unrequited lover,

But they whisper not, not a word they utter,

Their existence impossible in this corner,

Where all I do is sit and drink from life,

Happy to have seen what heaven is like on earth,

And hoping for the love you hold within your gemstone heart,

Never shall it be mine, my mind knows far too well,

I’ll die before I taste the raspberry lips,

Before I feel bliss soothe away every single flaw in me,

Before I know that life can never be so bad,

And time shall wear away the babylon statues,

But never this knowledge, never this fact,

For every sunbeam smile that burns the eyes,

That forever prints an image within memory and space,

Which draws in all the darkness in the world and this corner,

For all these smiles they shall fade for me,

They shall die for me,

You are not mine and never will be,

For heaven is not meant for mortal man…..

And I am as mortal as you are angelic, this cannot be denied.

I must confess these things, though not to you, to someone,

To whoever reads these words scrawled in smiles upon this page,

No sorrow, no hatred, no pity or shame,

Just knowing, I confess I love thee more then anyone could ever love anything,

I confess I love thee more then life and fame and riches,

I’d trade a million women of beauty just for one of you, for half of you, for a kiss,

And never would I complain though God struck me of all fortune,

Though I was crippled and battered and beaten and failed,

I would not complain with you near me, with you to hold,

I confess I love thee and no words any mortal knows can explain it,

No words exist to paint the feelings that your name burns in me,

And I ramble for a thousand words, for a million days, never nearing you,

So I pull the shadows closer to warm me as I adore you,

I watch you with a smile.

Log in to write a note

you’re so talented…azurene huh? well azure is like the blue of sky (yeah cuz i have apoem where i talk about it so i know, and i looke dit in the dictionary to be sure lol) so this could actually mean more than u thought if u consider that it seems to be about wanting someone you can’t have..pie in the sky type thing..lol sorry little analytical there. good poem:)