Cell

in the grand scheme of things ‘Cell’ wasn’t too bad, but it was far from good. i’m relieved to know that someone else is as disillusioned as i am. if you find a good new on would you mind letting me know. i’ve been looking without joy and am thinking of giving up 🙂

good luck x [glitteringprize]

after getting this note i sat down and finished Cell and  i agree with the assesment entirely.  But ive been thinking.  and i think i know just why it is  ive become steadily disillusioned with stephen king and his writing over the years.  it’s because ive gotten older.  my perspectives have chenged and the things that scare me now are not the things that scared me as a child.  so stories  like From a Buick 8 and Cell and Rose Madder and well quite a long list of others really.. they just dont give me the shiver tht it used to. although It is planted DEEPLY in the childish part of my mind and the name Pennywise gives me a chill to this day and i absolutely HATE clowns. they give me the wiggins in  a bad way LOL . 

so sadly  i am no longer a ‘constant reader’ of Mr. Kings but i will reread his books im sure, i just wont be buying any more of his new books.  i would like to say though that his Dark Tower Series (though it has taken him something like 10 years to finally finish it) is worth the read.  i was annoyed with him for writing himself into the book but it worked out well anyway, and although the end was no surprise, it was what i had been expecting really, it was still well done.  so i’d definatly give the series as a whole 2 thumbs up.  its not typical King writeing  but it wasnt meant to be and he carried the theme well thru the entire series. i dont recall him dropping the ball once as is likely to happen  at times when writing a series.. *cough*Jordan*cough*

and now im off to an early morning interview! cross your fingers and wish me luck please

Namaste

J

Log in to write a note
January 3, 2007

Rose Madder…I’ll never forgive him! Good luck pal

January 3, 2007

yep, you’re right…again.

January 3, 2007

oh, have you tried richard laymon? he’s creeped me out more than once and a few of his books gave me ‘that’ feeling of fear, the one you only get from a book.

January 3, 2007

if you would still like to use my work in any way for your od i would be honored. its nice to have people appreciate the things i try to say. thank you for your support. the best of luck to you in your ventures.

January 3, 2007

The older King stuff still does so much better than his recent stuff. Here’s a suggestion for you: “A Song of Kali” by Dan Simmons.