Plan for the Year

For the year I need to…

  • Go back to Yoga
  • Tone my arms
  • Practice dance
  • Let go of some grudges
  • Clean out some of the old stuff from my life
  • Move out
  • Change…..

This year I’m going to try the Straightedge Lifestyle.

Think I can do it??

 

 

 

 

Straight Edge
From the Minor Threat EP

I’m a person just like you
But I’ve got better things to do
Than sit around and fuck my head
Hang out with the living dead
Snort white shit up my nose
Pass out at the shows
I don’t even think about speed
That’s something I just don’t need

I’ve Got the Straight Edge

I’m a person just like you
But I’ve got better things to do
Than sit around and smoke dope
‘Cause I know I can cope
Laugh at the thought of eating ludes
Laugh at the thought of sniffing glue
Always gonna keep in touch.

I’ve Got the Straight Edge

 

 

I’m sure you all are but for those of you not familiar with the straight edge movement… its centered on self-control. Its knowing that every day has its struggles, but you can deal with them, learn from them, and reflect on what you’ve done, go to bed, and still try to be in a positive mood in the morning. Its will power. Its about the abstinence from all narcotics, alcohol, tobacco, and free sex. It began in the 80’s.

Or as Ian Mackaye wrote in his song "Out of Step (with the world)"…. "don’t drink, don’t smoke, don’t fuck, at least I can fucking think."

When you need clarity… go out and find it. That’s what I’m doing. Time to fix what I’ve made wrong.

Log in to write a note

I know you can do it.

January 5, 2006

I’ve definitely read about the Straight Edge Movement. It’s everything I was brought up with. (I was brought up Christian). You go for it ! A clean pure life? Why not!!

January 9, 2006

I suppose for the most part I follow the Straightedge lifestyle, although I’ve never heard it called that. But the way you described it, particularly that one quote, reminded me of the Seinfeld episode where George gives up sex and becomes a genius. But anyway, good luck to you :).