Thank you!

Thank you, everyone, for your kind words.  My heart is overflowing!

Everything is going quite well.  It’s amazing how one learns how to care for a baby, and how it sort of comes naturally, once you get over the fear of "breaking" her!  All my life I’ve tried to be gentle with things and not break them, to no avail.  ("Love Poem" by John Frederick Nims?  The poem is about me.)  But I find that Evangeline is resilient and apparently doesn’t think I’m rough.  This was one of my greatest fears, and now it’s gone.

Pictures will follow soon!  I love her more than I could have imagined, more than I had hoped (I had some worries during pregnancy — what if I don’t like my baby, etc.  How could I have even thought it?)

Just amazing.  Life is…amazing.

Oh!  The day before she was born I officially received my diploma.  I now have a masters’ degree in history, w00t!

In the hospital.

At Mum’s house.

Me, my mum, grandmother, and of course, Evie!

Ivan, his mum and her boyfriend, the other grandparents!

My best friend, Uncle Chris.

I call this one "Oh Dear…"

Sleeping angel.  Raising the roof, or practicing weightlifting.

Famous Laila and Evie self-portrait.  In the car!

Daddy!

Thinking.

 

Log in to write a note
March 13, 2011

Ivan looks so sleep deprived in that pic of him holding the baby. I remember that look all too well! Glad you’re having such a good time; you’re fortunate, some moms have to deal with colic.

March 13, 2011

What a beautiful gift. I miss my son being a baby. Cherish every moment….really. It’s gone in a flash. People told me that…but I didn’t realize how all too true it is. Congratulations!

March 13, 2011

Wow, she is so beautiful- it’s so amazing how 9 months can create such an amazing life in this world. It sounds like motherhood is going well for you 🙂 Seeing pics of her makes me want to start a family 🙂

March 17, 2011

Okay A) I LOVE her face! 2) I LOVE your face! III) You are handling mommyhood so well, I am impressed! I was such a wreck with my first one. Um, and you kind of look like you are holding someone else’s baby – where did all your pregnancy weight go?!?! I hope you know that in Mommyworld, moms who look like they did not JUST have a baby are hated. But I still like you 🙂

March 17, 2011

Oh and I totally agree – Ivan looks so sleepy with Evie. It’s a beautiful picture, I really love it! It conveys so much! And CONGRATS on your Master’s!!