Wonderwall

 Quote: "I’ve learned the hard lesson that you can’t pin your hopes on anything until its a completely done deal." -William Kempe

I was driving my black Ford Focus through campus, Wonderwall had just come on my ipod via shuffle. There were gasps of excitement and  I twisted the volume knob on high.

Because maybe….you’re gonna be the one that saves me,

The five of us, friend’s who have grown so much closer this semester, sang along in unison. Our futures are uncertain, the mistakes we’ve made coming back to haunt us. We should have known better, we knew it, they knew it and now we would pay for it.

After all, you’re my wonderwall…..

Every lesson learned from my first year was erased this semester. The wrong girl I’d promised to put in the past, came back. The best friend I’d chosen to forgive, I still resented. The maturity I’d promised to show when faced with people who challenged me, faded. The job I’d worked so hard to get? In jeopardy. The apartment I’d moved into in August and now called home? At risk. A new girl, with no history, baggage or ties to my past? Alienated. My proud parents? Disappointed.

Fist fights, tears, a second alcohol violation, and constant deadlines.

That is my past semester. Only to be topped off by literally getting hit by a truck. Now we played a waiting game, any day we will learn where we will end up come January and who we will end up with.

But that night, as the rain poured and Oasis crooned, it was out of my mind.

Log in to write a note
December 1, 2010

🙁 I hope your next semester is better. Back beat, the word is on the street that the fire in your heart is out. And all the roads we have to walk are winding. And all the lights that lead us there are blinding.