Just Around the Corner

Quote: "For tomorrow belongs to the people who prepare for it today." -African Proverb

I’m cleaning my room. It’s not something I do often, or ever really. I mostly just shift the clothes that are spread out all over my floor over to under the bed or stuff them into my closet. Not today though. I go through my clothes, the countless T-shrits and jeans that no longer fit and I fold them up before throwing them out. I don’t that. Throw things out. I keep them for reasons that don’t make a lot of sense.I’m giving my bedroom the full treatment, breaking out the duster, black garbage bags, and vaccum. It’s inspiring.

After six weeks of bumming rides, I’ve purchased a new car. A black 2003 Ford Focus which completely kicks the ass of my green 1997 Ford Taurus. It’s an amazing feeling driving around in a car that doesn’t jingle, will pass inspection, lacks dents and rust. Sure, I owe my parents four thousand dollars, it’s worth it. I’ll make payments, keep the car clean. I’ve yet to decide on a name for the vehicle. Nothing seems to fit. Often times I’ll find myself walking past the window and take a peek outside, just to stare at the shiny black car on the street I can call my own.

In what may possibly be the best/scariest news of the week, I have a scheduled interview with Montclair State University. April 14th at 4 P.M. I will be meeting with the head of the Broadcasting department who will literally decide my future. I’ll write 250 words on why I want to attend the school before they ask me pretty much the same question among others, face to face.

I’m terrified.

I’ve got to put together a resume and a portfolio. Not quite sure what will go into the portfolio yet but they said it can contain papers we’ve written for classes or any other original material we have. I’ve got no idea what I’ll include, I’m sure if I think hard enough something I’ve written in the past 19 years will stick out, but as of now, I’m drawing a blank. Truth be told, I’m worrying more about what to wear. It’s probably the least important aspect of the entire interview process, I’m aware, but I can’t get it out of my head.

Good things are happening to me. I’ve got a birthday in less than a month. I’ll be entering my twenties, which is a little hard to believe. I come home to a clean room every night. I have a shiny new car that will take me wherever I want to go. I’m going to see Brand New perform in exactly 7 days with my best friends, an event that will be followed by heavy drinking. April is going to be big for me. Things are going to happen that month that will have an impact on my entire life as I know it and it’s all just around the corner.

With all of this happening, I still feel bored more than I’d like to admit. I spend more nights alone than I used to, a common theme after a break up I think. It isn’t the worst thing in the world but with so much happening, I’d like a person to share it with. That said, I can honestly state that it isn’t the girl that I miss, it’s more that I miss having someone around, which is a hell of a lot easier than missing a girl.

Log in to write a note
March 30, 2009

good things happen to those who wait. you’ve been waiting. good luck with everything.