Corona and Lime

Quote: "If you greatly desire something, have the guts to stake everything on obtaining it." -Brendan Francis

I’m not sure how many shots of Southern Comfort I’d taken by the time I entered the hot tub but I want to say 4. Kristina had been drinking some apple flavored Bacardi, the mere scent of it made me cringe. I was house sitting for my aunt and uncle. Taking in the mail, feeding Comet, the gold retriever and taking full advantage of an empty house.

It was the perfect night to spend in the tub. The air was cool, but not cold. Just the right temperature for the warm water to feel refreshing. We played with the jets before taking another shot and making another drink, listening to Shwayze’s Corona and Lime as well as numerous other songs from the playlist I’d spent the entire day creating.

I’d set it up so that the lights in the tub would change colors, something which we drunkenly found incredibly amusing. I pulled her in close to me, steam rising all around us as we kissed. She ran her hands through my hair before playfully dunking me underwater and screeched as I splashed at her. I don’t know how skinny dipping came up but I know it wasn’t long before we were fooling around in the hot tub, drunk and naked.

The details are blurry now which makes me nearly positive more drinking took place before we retreated to the bed room. Nearly 2 years after our first date we were in bed together, the only thing separating us was a sheet and before long it was happening. I was having sex with Kristina. Kissing her neck, feeling and seeing her body under mine. Sure, I’d always pictured our first time together to be a little slower, more romantic, but I still don’t have a regret.

We fell asleep after having sex once more only to wake up at 4 AM to go at it again. It wasn’t just about sex though. It was about finally being with the girl I’d wanted for years. I’d literally pictured it a million times and had all but given up hope on it ever happening. For so long I’ve kicked myself for all the day dreams I’d wasted, especially on a girl I didn’t think I meant much to.

She slept peacefully next to me, naked in my arms, the golden retriever at our feet. I wasn’t scared the way I so often am after sex. Just at peace as I felt her chest rise and fall before drifting off to sleep.

There are just 6 days before she leaves for school. It’s only 40 minutes away, she’ll be home to work on the weekends and I’ll go up to visit. We’ve discussed that much at least. I’m not exactly sure what we are, though I know what I want us to be. I’d originally thought the fact that I’d gotten out of a relationship merely 2 weeks ago would complicate things, but it isn’t. I want her. I’ve always wanted her. I know she wants me too, she isn’t the type to sleep around. I’m the second guy she’s ever been with, sexually speaking. I just don’t know how to figure out if we’re on the same page. I’m fully aware her life is about to completely change in only a matter of days and while I’d understand her not wanting to full commit, I’d be lying if I said it wouldn’t totally break my heart.

Log in to write a note