Assertive..Agressive…damned if I know now.

OMG Yesterday. Where to begin. First I am now aware how assertive or aggressive I sound.

 So we arrive at Ality, which now is under a new name, raring to go. I personally was very very excited.

The Rat test was so confusing, and there wasn’t enough to go around. The gal came out and she could not have been nicer and helped.

We finally got into the foyer and naturally I asked firstly about the new name, to be told they had been that name for 3 years which was blatantly untrue. And then we meet Maureen, and I ask where we are to change and she pointed down the hall and I asked how far away was that from where we were performing and was told a quite away. I asked why we couldnt use the little room we always had, to be told this time by the manager it was in use and was not available. Then to be told there was a dinner party going on in there and it was being cleared away. That was OK, so we sat in the foyer and I played with dear little pooch while we waited.

Finally we were allowed to go into the room.

I put my things down and went back out and engaged with the audience laughing and joking.

In the middle of the space there was a large organ which I asked could it be moved as there wasn’t any room for the group. Maureen became very annoyed and said no. I said well I will have to wait until our keyboard gets here. She said you can use this. Of course I told her no. With that she starts pushing it towards the window telling me the carpet was ruined underneath. It wasn’t but there was a small lump about 5 ins in diameter, which I said my people could handle. She told me it was against the rules, so I would talk to the manager and maybe we could arrange something. Well she became enraged, literally, which got my back up.

She went on about how it was dangerous and next thing along comes a very over the top aggressive manager and plonks a stool down over the lumpy carpet. Owen was just walking in with the Boom Box and I suggested we use that as it was aesthetically better and she blew her top and told me to go. I went into the group and told them and just about to say you can handle this on your own and how they could introduce each other. When in comes Maureen confronts me again in front of everyone and tell us all to get out. She spoke to the group like they were children. We had to leave together so she barred the door until we were packed up. She had words with Sue and that is another story

We ended up at the Ringwood club and they were very supportive of me.

 

Anyhow good to write it down and get over it.

Log in to write a note