STOP THE SNOW!

Seriously, stop with the snow.  We’re due to get about 10 inches total between very early this morning and about 7 am tomorrow.  The heaviest is supposed to fall mid afternoon today through this evening.  That would be why I think I’m going to skip my last lecture.  My last lecture doesn’t get out until 3:45 and by the time I’m back to my car it’s 4PM and by then the heavy snow will have started and no doubt driving home will suck.  If I leave after my next discussion but before my lecture, I’ll be driving home around 1 PM instead of 4.  Chances are the drive won’t be fantastic even at 1, but it should be better than at 4.

There were a lot of local schools that closed today, and several more already that are closing early.  My brother’s school (he’s a H.S. Senior) however is still open.  He was well aware, however, this morning that there would be a LOT of pissed off students and teachers if it turned out to be dangerous driving home when school let out. Plus, apparently the school district doesn’t have a very good plan in place for sending students home early on account of the weather.

According to the weather guy this morning, you have to go back to the 1920’s to find the last time we had a snowstorm this big this late into the season.  Of course, we get all this heavy wet snow on top of already swollen streams and rivers and we’re going to have flooding problems.  One of the rivers just to the south of here has already had flooding issues the last several weeks and this will only make matters worse as all of this snow is EXTREMELY heavy.  It’s so heavy that even though there wasn’t a great deal of it on my windshield this morning, but wiper blades couldn’t handle it.  Thankfully I dont think we’re going to get enough, but it’s also the type of snow that easily downs powerlines.

Log in to write a note